I Talked to a Foreigner in Person for the First Time

He complimented my English skills.

Alexia Dominique Reyes
Lover Bites
2 min readJun 3, 2024

--

Photo by Ben Mullins on Unsplash

The reason why I haven’t uploaded anything on A Lover in Disguise’s YouTube channel is that I want to use a better lens for my camera. So, I posted it on Facebook Marketplace last night.

And a foreigner in the Philippines bought it!

I just got home from our meetup. We met in the church where I stop by whenever I do my morning walk. He drove for 1 hour for that lens! He also lives in Bulacan, but in another town.

He was surprised that I could speak fluently because other Filipinos couldn’t according to him. I was surprised, too. I can talk to foreigners online, but I hadn’t done that in person, so I was worried.

But we talked like friends — so casual that it felt like it was my first language when I spoke. I am glad that I met him because I was able to confirm that I can talk to foreigners in person. It means I am really fluent in English.

This is not a love story by the way.

--

--

Alexia Dominique Reyes
Lover Bites

I write about languages and cultures, plus some random stories about my life. Work with me? alexiadocare@gmail.com