I Thought I Wouldn’t Be Able to Move On But I Did

I am becoming less and less depressed.

Alexia Dominique Reyes
Lover Bites
2 min readMay 14, 2024

--

Photo by Delphine Beausoleil on Unsplash

I was fired in 2019. I worked full-time without getting paid for 11 months from 2019 to 2020. My employer from 2021 to 2022 exploited me. Disappointment after disappointment took a toll on me, so I became depressed.

It is 2024, and I am getting better.

I still have emotional breakdowns, but they don’t happen every day unlike before. It is hard when you need to own your problems because others will not understand. I am carrying it alone that’s why it is taking so long.

Just because you are good doesn’t mean you will receive good. You will just be taken advantage of and taken for granted. I have accepted that.

--

--

Alexia Dominique Reyes
Lover Bites

I write about languages and cultures, plus some random stories about my life. Work with me? alexiadocare@gmail.com