I Want to Let Them Know I Am Older Than Them

I am proud that I am in my late 20s.

Alexia Dominique Reyes
Lover Bites
2 min readJun 15, 2024

--

Photo by Ksenia Emelianchik on Unsplash

It happened many times that when I was asked how old I was, or if I needed to fill out a form and write down my age there, I wanted to say "28" even though I was still 27. I will turn 28 in a few months.

On social media, specifically on Facebook, I show the years when I graduated both from high school and from college because I want them to know I am not a student. Apparently, I look like a student to many.

I read an article that says age-related questions are rude, but I honestly couldn't care less if people are curious about my age. I am not ashamed that I am almost 30 — and still unmarried and living with my mom.

Maybe those kinds of questions are a big deal to people who care so much about what people think of them.

Unfortunately, if your definition of success is having lots of achievements, money in your bank account, and other things you can flaunt by a certain age, then you will disappointed if you haven't had those by that age.

Maybe some people are ashamed they are "old" because they are insecure.

--

--

Alexia Dominique Reyes
Lover Bites

I write about languages and cultures, plus some random stories about my life. Work with me? alexiadocare@gmail.com