18 Months Apart: What Marathon Training Looks Like

18 Months Apart: from 2.2 to 26.2 miles

Anant Jain
Anant Jain
2 min readNov 23, 2017

--

April 7, 2016. I decided to put on my never-worn running shoes, and go for a run outside for the first time in many years:

I ran for 10–20 seconds, then walked for 2–3 minutes, then tried to run some more and so on.
My heart struggled to pump out blood to a 240 pound blob of 40% fat.
But, the point is, I stayed out there for 30 minutes, huffing and puffing, and ended up going through 2.2 miles, burning the equivalent of 2 cookies.

October 8, 2017. Fast forward 18 months, I ran my first full marathon:

I ran for 4 hours straight with minor pauses to grab water/electrolytes.
It’s a lot easier for the same heart to pump blood to a 160 pound body that’s less than 10% fat.
And yes, I’m at a point in life where I don’t have to think about cookies burnt any more.
I still remember this was the video I saw that prompted me to go for that first 2.2 mile run.

--

--

Anant Jain
Anant Jain

Now: engineering @brexhq. Past: Co-founder @commonlounge, @eagerpanda. @iitdelhi ’12. More at https://anantja.in