Insurance for Startups

EforAll
Lowell-Lawrence
Published in
2 min readFeb 1, 2017

Week 7 in the Accelerator, Insurance for Startups with Michael Conway by Andrea Machado

My name is Andrea Machado and I am with Phoenix Rising Pizza, a mobile wood fired pizza truck in the greater Lowell area, and we are a part of EforAll’s accelerator program. As part of the program we get to learn from business subject matter experts. Our expert this week was Michael Conway of Conway insurance in Lowell who will “Insure your tomorrows today”. He led our EforAll class discussion on Insurance. What I found most interesting about the class was how important it is to have your own personal insurance coverage on your home and auto so people won’t be able to go after your business if there is any kind of accident.

Michael covered a lot of great information such as the importance that whether you have business or personal insurance you should have an umbrella policy that covers each one. He also stated that policies are unique and certain things can be excluded so have a realistic conversation with your agency so they know all the things you need covered in your policy. Lastly if anything changes to your policy notify your agency right away. It is important to keep them in the loop so if someone makes a claim and you get thrown in the “mud” you will have your insurance coverage to fight your legal battle and not have to pay out of pocket.

As a member of the accelerator I have found these classes invaluable. Even when I thought I knew information about a business topic, I found that I did not know nearly enough. Now, I am able to take this new information and further my business goals for Phoenix Rising Pizza. It has been wonderful to participate with my peers of fellow entrepreneurs in this program. It is nice to have a panel of people at each session from whom I get to gain help and information, as well as, help and give information too as our businesses gain progress towards our goals together.

Andrea Machado

Phoenix Rising Pizza

Check out the video: https://www.facebook.com/EforAllLowellLawrence/videos/667303636783110/

--

--

EforAll
Lowell-Lawrence

Entrepreneurship for All (EforAll) is accelerating economic and social impact through entrepreneurship in mid-sized cities.