Profitability? That is the question.

EforAll Lowell-Lawrence
Lowell-Lawrence
Published in
2 min readJan 13, 2018

Hey Everyone! My name’s Heather DeBerio and i’m the owner of Powerhouse Juice. We make nut milks, smoothies as well as our raw cold pressed juice. We also do farm to table catering using local and seasonal ingredients.

We just finished up the fourth week of our accelerator. Our cohort was snowed in due to Bombogenesis, so we used Google Meet to cover this weeks topic. Elaine Sousa talked to us about finances. We learned an amazing technique called Back of the Envelope Analysis. This is an informal calculation often done on a piece of scrap paper to calculate if your business is profitable.

Back of the Envelope Analysis helps you quickly determine if your business can make a profit or if you need to make changes to see profitability. We talked revenue and expenses. We learned about fixed and semi fixed costs.

I have been in business for a little over 2 years, and we typically wait to the end of the year to see what our expenses and revenue are. I know this is not the best way to run a business, so I will be sure to use what Elaine taught on a regular basis. It was a really great class and probably my favorite week this far.

“I never dreamed about success. I worked for it.”- Estee Lauder

--

--