Press and Marketing for Starting Up

Week Three in the Accelerator — Maryelle Artistry

EforAll
Lowell-Lawrence
2 min readDec 29, 2016

--

This is a part of a series of posts written by entrepreneurs of the Winter 2017 Accelerator cohort for EforAll Lowell-Lawrence.

It is our third week in the program and we had the pleasure of having Andy Vargas as our guest speaker. Andy is a native of Massachusetts, graduate from Boston University, and served as a White House intern helping expand the White Houses’s reach on social media and communications. Now he is here with EforAll sharing his talents and knowledge with us and last week in the accelerator, share he did!

We learned all sorts of resourceful information including tips on crafting an intriguing press release and reaching our customers by understanding what they read and what interests them. He also jumped into the importance of social media and how to create relevant content that our targeted audience will take great interest in and as a result will grow our following organically.

Developing a deeper understanding of how press releases are created and used as well the importance of carving out our audience so our marketing efforts target the right viewers, has helped me understand my own business in more depth. As a makeup artist I work regularly with talent that works directly with press interviews and movie junkets. This class has enriched my knowledge as an artist, gave me a greater appreciation and understanding for my clients and has taught me how I can develop and use a press release to expand my own business and grow my fan base.

Red carpet event I did for movie Patriots day movie http://www.maryelleartistry.com/single-post/2016/12/18/Patriots-Day-Movie-Release

--

--

EforAll
Lowell-Lawrence

Entrepreneurship for All (EforAll) is accelerating economic and social impact through entrepreneurship in mid-sized cities.