Taking Tanzania by storm

LRTT
LRTT Stories
Published in
2 min readJan 4, 2019

Hi! My name is Henry; I am a teacher at Kola Hill Secondary School, in Morogoro, Tanzania, teaching English. I have been teaching for five years. First and foremost I would like to convey my sincere gratitude to the LRTT coordinators who came up with these spectacular ideas on how we can help Tanzanian teachers, specifically Morogoro teachers and how to use different strategies in teaching in their environment.

I presented our group’s lesson plan on “Sets” during the workshops

Also, I would like to convey thanks to our facilitators who worked tirelessly to make sure that the stated objectives of this programme were fully achieved. Big up to Madam Jess, Mr. Joe, Madam Morgan, Madam Nichole, Madam Ellie, Mr. Sean and your team of facilitators; you have done a good job. I appreciate your contribution and effort in this program (LRTT). Thank you.

Having a discussion mid-workshop

This programme was initially initiated in July up to August in two phases. Whereby the first phase we have been taught different strategies in the teaching and learning process and how to create a conducive environment for learning and we have been able to implement practically what we have been taught.

At the end of the second phase we have been able to add new knowledge, strategies and we have already started to implement in our classroom context and I have experienced a marvelously positive response from my students. I really thank LRTT for your help. In fact, I have changed from ordinary to extraordinary.

We are now part of a global network of inspiring teachers

I would like now to put forward my opinion of this programme and recommendations so as to enable the sustainable contribution of this programme.

  • There should be a regular visiting to see how we progress
  • We must think over and over how we can use different strategies for teaching different lessons
  • I concur with other teachers this programme has been helpful to us

Finally, I put fingers crossed hopefully waiting for the coming new LRTT third phase and I am positive I am going to get the best new knowledge ever. I can’t wait!

We never stop learning because the world never stops teaching us. Thanks.

For your chance to work with Henry and his colleagues in Tanzania, you can head here to read more and apply: http://lrtt.org/fellowships

--

--

LRTT
LRTT Stories

LRTT is an international social enterprise that facilitates community-level teacher training in 10 incredible countries.