Backing up Desert Golfing on Android

Justin Raymond
Tech Stuff.
Published in
2 min readOct 26, 2014

Since I couldn’t find any articles on the web detailing this, here’s what I did:

  1. Ensure phone is rooted (I used windows software Kingo Root — super easy)
  2. Install Titanium Backup (paid version, a few bucks)
  3. Find Desert Golf in the app list, hit “Backup !”
  4. Three backup files will be created in the Titanium Backup folder on the phone’s internal storage. They’ll be called com.captaingames.golf.somethingorother. I copied them to an SD card.
  5. Format phone/whatever.
  6. Reinstall Desert Golfing and Titanium Backup.
  7. Move the 3 files back into the newly created Titanium Backup folder.
  8. Open Titanium Backup, click on Desert Golfing, and Restore!
  9. Hole 468, here I come!!

The short story here is that I have an aging DROID RAZR MAXX HD (2012). Maybe as a result of endless tinkering and installing (and uninstalling!) apps and stuff, the phone had finally arrived at an unbearably slow point. A point where I couldn’t even remember if it was fast in the first place, but my god, it shouldn’t take 45 seconds for the keyboard to pop up on screen.

So I pulled the trigger and hit the ol’ Factory Reset. “This can’t be too painful,” I thought. I’ve been using Gmail for the past ten years. All of the photos I took on my phone have been backed up to G+ Photos. I copied a few special folders, like my voice recordings, to an SD card. I very nearly hit the reset button before I realized that I would very probably lose hundreds of holes’ worth of progress in my favorite pooping game!

So there you have it. Hopefully this is helpful for someone! And I don’t see why it couldn’t apply to copying game data to another device, or possibly work with other games, too.

Cheers.

--

--