#WCW April with Kathy Chau

Olga V. Perfilieva
ltuxbos
Published in
4 min readApr 11, 2018
Photo by Adrienne Peck

Welcome, Kathy! Thank you for joining us in the #WCW series of Ladies That UX Boston.

Tell us a little bit about yourself.

Hello! I’m Kathy, a senior designer at Intrepid, where my team and I work on creating amazing experiences for tech products. When I’m not designing things, I’m probably attempting to finish my backlog of video games, or sitting at a cafe doodling silly things.

How did you get involved in the tech industry?

I’ve always been curious about human behaviors and how the brain works so I pursued a psychology degree. I didn’t want a career in research so I was looking for other options. I thought graphic design might be a good fit since I did a lot of art on the side.

I worked as a communications designer for a couple years but I soon outgrew that role. I wanted something that tied back to my psychology roots but also had the creative aspects. I took a leap of faith and quit my job to learn more about product design at Startup Institute. It turned out to be exactly what I was looking for, and I never looked back ever since.

What do you do now?

I’m involved in every stage of the design process, from working with clients and strategists to define high-level strategies, to working with developers to make the products a reality. And of course, I also execute on the designs, creating deliverables such as wireframes, mockups, and prototypes.

How do you define UX in your current role?

It’s about making deliberate design decisions so that every touch point of the product has been thoughtfully considered. UX is everything that the user can and can’t interact with, and what they will and won’t feel when they use the product. It encompasses everything from the app architecture and wireframes, to the aesthetic choices and the tone of the language.

What do you love the most about your job?

I like the problem solving aspect the most! I love working with my team to figure out new processes and new solutions. Every project has its own challenges and set of constraints. I’m constantly out of my comfort zone and that keeps me on my toes.

Are there any professional challenges that keep you up at night?

The industry is evolving quickly and bringing a lot of new exciting tools for designers. On one hand, I’m super excited to learn these new tools. On the other, I’m worried some of these tools will become obsolete in the short term as more competition arrives. I’m crossing my fingers for all my favorite programs.

Do you mind sharing what those favorite programs are?

Sure! Principle for prototyping, Abstract for version control, and of course Zeplin for redlines/export.

What tool or technique you could not live without to get you through a week?

My sketchbook and pens. First off, I’ll admit I have an unhealthy obsession with stationery. (Don’t bring me to an art store unless you are committed to spending a couple of hours there.)

But there’s something about putting things on paper that really helps me focus on the problems that I’m trying to solve. In early stages of design, I like to write out business goals, user goals, assumptions, and any challenges or unknowns I have to consider. It helps me look at the problem in a holistic manner. During the iterative stages, I like to scribble as many ideas I can — mostly bad ones — but that’s usually how I find the good ones.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

I see myself staying in tech and embedded in the design community, hopefully as a good mentor and a role model to junior designers. A lot of great designers helped me on my path, so I would love to give back!

What’s the biggest career advice you’ve ever gotten?

This isn’t really specific to career, but I think understanding and adopting a “growth mindset” drove most of my personal and career growth. As someone with a ridiculous amount of anxiety, I’m often doubting my own abilities. But the only thing I would never doubt is my potential. I tell myself that if I put in the effort, it’s only a matter of time until I succeed.

Any advice you want to share with women who are looking to become UX Designers?

UX is a multidisciplinary role, so don’t worry about not having the right degree or background. You can learn a lot of the basics from reading Apple’s Human Interface Guidelines and Google’s Material Design Guidelines. Be inquisitive and keep an open mind when receiving feedback.

How do you stay up to date on the latest trends in digital design?

Sometimes I would crowdsource relevant products or trends from other designers, which is one of the reasons why having a diverse team is great.

On a day-to-day basis, Panda is a wonderful resource to find design and tech related articles. I try to skim through it when I have a moment.

How did you hear about Ladies That UX and how long have you been a member?

I learned about it from Lara Cavezza, one of the co-organizers. I’m not sure how long I’ve been a member, but love how your events bring together the design community in Boston, especially for the ladies.

What brought you to Boston and what do you love about Boston?

I grew up in Boston and decided to stay because it has just enough city life without being overwhelming.

Favorite brunch spot in the area?

Ball Square Cafe in Somerville! You’ll probably have to stand in line for a bit, but it’s going to be worth the wait.

Thanks for sharing your story, Kathy!

Follow Kathy on Twitter @ChauKathy and check out Kathy’s Dribbble profile.

--

--

Olga V. Perfilieva
ltuxbos
Editor for

Product Design Leader and Co-organizer of Ladies That UX Boston. Formerly product design at Botkeeper, ezCater and CarMax.