Interview with Amybeth McNulty — For Brazilian website Hollywood is Here.

Luana Mattos
Luana’s Portfolio
5 min readMar 13, 2020

Anne with an E is an amazing and unique kind of series and one of Brazilians’ favorite TV shows. Starring the talented Amybeth McNulty, the show is set in the late 19th century, and addresses topics that are extremely relevant today. If you haven’t watch it, stop right here and go see it (you’ll love it, I promisse).

Check it out my interview with the one and only, Amybeth McNulty!

Luana: Hi Amybeth, thank you so much for taking the time to do this interview.

Anne with an E is one of a kind, the storyline is fantastic and your performance of Anne was flawless, exactly what I would have expect if I had read the books (which I intent to do soon), speaking of it, were you familiar with the books before the show?

Amybeth: Hello, I hope you’re well. Thank you for thinking of me to interview!

Thank you for your kind words, my mum actually gave me the first book in the collection for my 9th birthday! I also read Anne of Avonlea during season 3.

Luana: What I love more about the show (besides the landscapes) is that it’s set in the late 19th century — way before social media and all of this! If you could bring something back from that time, what would you choose? (I would bring back the letters, I love the idea of handwriting letters, — speaking of that, was that your real handwring? It’s so beautiful!)

Amybeth: There’s so much about that time period that makes me feel so cozy and at home. I love the style. Now don’t get me wrong, those corsets aren’t exactly comfortable — but the lace tops and long skirts, the fancy evening gowns. I would wear those every day if I could. Actually, I’ve started incorporating Anne’s belt and boots into my own daily wear.

No, the handwriting is not my own, whenever I tried I spilled ink everywhere. So I’m very grateful to my hand double for making it look so beautiful.

Luana: You’re an amazing actress! And I can’t wait to see what the future holds for your career! When did you decided that that was what you wanted to do? How was the beginning of your career?

Amybeth: I began acting when I was very young, maybe 5 or so? Just by going to acting classes and that sort of thing. I didn’t start auditioning until my 10th birthday when I auditioned for ‘Matilda’ The Musical in London! It was actually the first time I realized that it was a career I could pursue.

Luana: When you play a character that’s so beloved and with such a strong personality, it’s hard for the public to separe you from the character, I bet some people even call you Anne, sometimes. How much of you is in Anne and how much of Anne is in you? What interests do you share?

Amybeth: It’s funny because there is so much of me that is so like Anne, and almost to the same extent I’m entirely different. We share the same thoughts and feelings politically and I would say I’m a self-confessed book worm so that’s similar too. I don’t spend as much time outside as Anne, although I wish I did. But she’s taught me a lot over the years after having to be in her head for so long that it’s even hard for me to find the separation anymore. But I’m a little older than Anne (I’m 18 now) and I do spend a lot of time on social media which is something she wouldn’t have had.

Amybeth McNulty

These questions are from some of Amybeth’s Brazilian fans:

@carolmajorr: If you could change anything about the storyline (e.g. about Anne’s parents, love interest, etc.), what would you change? Also, how do you imagine Anne as an adult?

Amybeth: I don’t think I would have changed anything.. but if I could have added anything I would have loved Anne to get a pet.. but maybe that’s just because I wanted a kitten on set. In terms of how I see Anne when she’s grown up, I see her owning and teaching a school. Living with Gilbert in a cozy cottage somewhere in the middle of the forest with plenty of kids and animals, not to mention more protests to to keep her occupied. Also visiting Matthew and Marilla every weekend.

@_biancalimaa_: How was working with Lucas Jade? Which castmates are you closest to?

Amybeth: Lucas is so fun to work with! He’s great when you need a laugh on set, and tells you lots of interesting things about space that you didn’t even know existed. I’m honestly close to everyone but I must say I will be best friends with all the school girls for years to come. They simply make me a better person.

@Anneofavonlea: Who are your female influences?

Amybeth: Well, naturally all the women in my family and my friends would come first, but if we’re talking public figures I would have to mention Greta Thunberg, Malala, Zendaya, Deja Foxx, Sarah Paulson, and Michelle Obama. That’s just a few of many.

@MatheusMárcio: Which scene was more challenging to do and which one did you like most?

Amybeth: I would say either the green hair dye scene in season 2 simply because it was a lot of crying and talking at the same time, or the swimming scene at the beginning of season 2. It was the Atlantic ocean in October, I’m sure you can imagine the cold. I couldn’t feel my feet for about 2 hours after!

@NayanneMoura: What changed in your life after Anne? What lessons you learned with the show?

Amybeth: Wow, what HASN’T changed. First of all, I’ve met people like you! Social media is a scary world but I’ve also found it to be such a gift being able to connect with so many different humans in different countries. I’m also grateful for the lessons I’ve learned myself during the show. I’ve grown not only as an actor but as a young woman. I find myself to be more confident and being more open about self-love. I’m still learning how to take up space and speak out when needed, but that’s a new thing for me and I’m loving it.

@LuaneOliveira: Which was your favorite scene from season 3?

Amybeth: I think my favorite scene to film was the barn dance scene! Oh, my legs hurt so much but wow it was fun. But my favorite scenes to watch were all of Dalmar (who plays Sebastion) and Cara’s (who plays Mary) scenes in episode 3. They are both just so talented and watching their scenes made me cry till I had no tears left. When I could watch that and not even remember I knew them in real life, well… that’s when you know they are some seriously talented actors.

@FernandaFaria: Do you have plans to come to Brazil someday?
I hope very very soon! I’ve been googling some things, so let me know what exciting things I should do!

Thank you for the questions!

All the best,
Amybeth x

--

--

Luana Mattos
Luana’s Portfolio

Christian • Brazilian • Freelance Writer • Columnist for http://www.hollywoodeaqui.com • English/Portuguese Speaker • Loves History!