Assignment drink of choice

Luke Mason
LucasMasonPortfolio
2 min readApr 24, 2018

This was an open assignment on a series which gave me some creative freedom to do whatever I wish. So, the one night when I got home from work there were a bunch of friends from out of town over they were all prepping to go out and I decided to stay in. I gave myself the idea (thanks to being sober to set up my soft-box light in a small room we don’t really use and told everyone to grab what they were drinking and pose with it. Some really put their personalities into it while others were as awkward as if I told them to do it sober. I had about 25 portraits in total of different people, most didn’t make the cut due to too much movement or not fitting into the frame properly (an issue trying to photograph intoxicated people) the result I got were these 6 images that I applied similar edits to so that I could keep the series consistent. I’m pleased with the results I got despite the 19 other failures which were great photographs just couldn’t fit well into the series.

--

--