Intro to UX Design

Luke Mason
LucasMasonPortfolio
3 min readApr 24, 2018

Overview: Random Eats is a mobile app that connects users to a number of
restaurants within their delivery area. By making a slot machine spin at the push of button. The app chooses a restaurant at random for the customer to place an order. By taking the best pieces from existing food delivery interfaces and implementing our own spin feature we were able to create what is Random Eats.
Challenges: The project itself was to create an alternative food delivery app that was different from all the others. The reason why I thought to create this is because there are so many food delivery apps that offer the exact same thing with little to no differentiation between them besides design. With Random Eats I would create something that already exists with a twist it may not be a first choice amongst consumers but it would be a choice for those looking to explore outside of the box.
Process: I started out with looking at popular food delivery apps and what they did right and wrong. By combining the things that I personally liked as a consumer of these services and mixing them together I found an interface that I would personally enjoy. Additionally, I implemented the screen where the slot machine spinner would be. Solution: After implementing the wire frames I had to come up with a logo for the service and design. I like the colours I used for the design and again I wanted to do something different from the logos that were used for other food delivery services. I went with the logo that I have now showing a surprise dish almost which I felt went well
with the name of the app Random Eats.
Results: I was quite pleased with the results I felt that I did too many wireframes but also felt like I had to in order to show the process of everything from registration/login to ordering and such.

--

--