The ugliest iPhone concepts… ever.

Lil Ramen
RamenMediaGroup
Published in
4 min readJan 3, 2019

Since the iPhone was introduced people have been making wishlists, concept arts, and 3D renders of the “next iPhone” as the years have gone on they certainly start to look better and be more accurate.

In this article, I’ll look over the ugliest and strangest iPhone concepts that I can pull from the depths of the internet. Get ready to vomit.

Obviously ,this was an iPhone 5 concept. I think what makes it really ugly is partly the square home button, wider screen, and plastic/rubber volume buttons. I don’t think we’ve ever seen an iPhone that can fit 5 apps side to side, and I know that at least since the iPhone 4 we have had metal volume buttons, and obviously only had two styles of home buttons — ever.

This phone was given the strange name of the iPhone 3GSRE, to be launched after the 5S. It almost looks like an iPhone 4, but obviously ,this was made before the 5S (Pre iOS 7 design and home button with a square in it). What I find weird about this phone is also the volume buttons, I don’t think we’ve had an iPhone with volume buttons with a dip in it.

This was an iPhone 3GS concept. This concept has so many things wrong with it. From the antenna bands to the somehow off looking home button, the centered camera, and front camera and earpiece. I cannot even stand to talk about all of the problems that I see, from this pre-Spotify looking Spotify, the Phonify on the back (probably just the name of the renderer) and how big the screen would be from scale of the icons at the top.

This phone….. no
Mostly looks, possible other than the earpiece, bezels and home button… so basically the three things that define the iPhone look. Burn this image. Burn it.

The ¨iPhone 4G¨

This phone. Itś not nearly as bad as the others look, but the lock screen, clock, ring around the Apple logo, earpiece and bottom side of the device. There is also the fact of the bezel inside the bezel.

The iPhone 4G…. again. The scale is also very off to me, how small the camera is to the back of the phone and the bezel inside the bezel again…. also what even are those bars on the side? Antennas? Removable battery? There is also the terrible looking center front camera.

The iPhone 3G Nano.
I remember using the original iPod Nano. This reminds me of it, but it just doesnt look like an iPhone, and I doubt it would feel anything like one in the hand.

Now, here is where it gets interesting. I think people got used to new designs every 2 generations of iPhones. There was the 3G, then 3GS, then a redesign to the 4’s design. Then there was the 4’s design to the 5’s design, then to the 6's design. So there might have been a pattern. That pattern of what people are to expect I think really rubbed off on the iPhone 7 rumours. Instead of writing a paragraph about each, i’ll just end the article with a few iPhone 7 concept arts/renders.

Remember what a headphone jack is?
3.5 MM charger…..
This is the most appalling. Good note to end on.

--

--

Lil Ramen
RamenMediaGroup

Hello! My name is Lucas, or Lil Ramen, my main goal with my articles are to help small communities and create change.