What are we scared of?

Lil Ramen
RamenMediaGroup
Published in
2 min readMay 25, 2018

I can list off quite a few things we are scared of now-a-days.

Terrorism.
Ebola.
Song lyrics. (Why?)
Feelings.
Love.
Rejection.
School shooters.
Guns.
War.
Alcohol.
Drugs.
That you won’t mean anything when you’re gone.

I am not scared over ISIS or Al-Qaeda, the US Military poses a bigger threat to me and the rest of us. I am not scared of Ebola, it infected 3 people and killed 1 in the US. I am not scared of song lyrics because I am not that sensitive. I am not scared of school shooters because I go to a virtual school. I am not scared of guns, war or alcohol or drugs because in the grand scheme there is very little chance of being killed by any of those.

To me it isn’t feelings that are to be scared or anxious of, it’s how you manage them, and I, admittedly, have not done the best job of that. The same philosophy stays true about love and rejection. You will not mean anything once you have died. The whole reason I started LucasMediaGroup : to have an accomplishment, something to be proud of and be remembered by.

In high school, we often face complex social groups of friends, peer pressure and a helluva lot of emotions. It just happens when you are 14–18 mixed in with a few 30–50 year olds and hundreds of other 14–18 year olds. Often kids my age have issues that we never reach out about because of one thing. Fear. Fear of rejection amongst *normal* people. The truth is, everybody has issues. Think of the most normal person you know, now imagine that they have problems affecting their life just like you do. Often, from experience with my friends, students around my age don’t discuss their problems with adults and instead with friends online in text conversations.

Though problems amongst teens can have much deeper consequences if left unnoticed and untreated. Lacking in schoolwork is one consequence at first. 10 deaths at Santa Fe High School on May 18th 2018 is an even deeper consequence. I am for the 2nd ammendment personally, but 22 shootings in schools between January 1st and May 18th 2018 is a problem. What we have to ask ourselves and others is “What are we doing to make kids want to shoot other kids?” and engage in conversations not only about problems with school shooters but about problems with everybody.

I personally think the one thing we are scared most of is fear. Fear stops us so many times from doing what we want, and even what we need. Fear stands in the way of happiness, most of people who don’t have happiness. Fear engulfs people entirely. Thoughts and prayers do not fix this. Conversations followed with strong action does.

--

--

Lil Ramen
RamenMediaGroup

Hello! My name is Lucas, or Lil Ramen, my main goal with my articles are to help small communities and create change.