Lucid Nightmare

Taylor Swift and the Death of a Thousand Cuts

There are plenty of ways for you to die in the modern world. This happens to be my favourite.

Argumentative Penguin
The Arctic Circular
6 min readJul 3, 2019

--

If you could pick one of the worst ways to die, what would you pick? Would you opt for death by fire? Drowning? Perhaps you’d prefer to be beaten to death, shot, or pushed out of a moving vehicle? By now you may be regretting opening this article.

Still… you saw the title, I suspect I can rely on a suitable amount of bloodlust to get you through to the end. But why am I asking? Why have I decided to bring this line of cheerful questioning into your life? One simple reason.

It’s a perfect metaphor. As a writer, I love metaphors.

In the course of research whilst writing, you come across many interesting things things. If you ever want someone easy to frame for a murder you’ve committed, find a fiction writer.

Tell the police to look at their hard drive. This works very well for people who write crime, but most writers have something dark lurking in their search history.

Take me for example. My search history includes the question, ‘Can you chokehold someone unconscious in under ten seconds’? More worrying, ‘What tranquillisers would keep

--

--

Argumentative Penguin
The Arctic Circular

Playwright. Screenwriter. Penguin. Fan of rationalism and polite discourse. Find me causing chaos in the comments. Contact: argumentativepenguin@outlook.com