The writers that made me

Terry Pratchett: The Master Of World Building And Subversive Satire

I’m doing five articles about the writers who made me the Penguin I am today. Starting with the GOAT.

Argumentative Penguin
The Arctic Circular
7 min readAug 9, 2023

--

CREDIT: Robin Zebrowski on Flickr. Attribution 2.0 Generic (CC BY 2.0)

I have always been a prolific reader and now based in London I am a prolific audiobook listener too. I am in transit a lot in the average week. Sometimes walking, sometimes on the tube, and occasionally in the car. I also go for walks in the evening when the weather isn’t too British.

Paying for Audible was a natural expansion to my already saturated reading schedule.

I am very much of the opinion that if you want to be a great creative writer you need to first be a great reader. You need to become familiar with stories and how they work. You need to practice using your imagination in output and input mode.

Over the next few weeks — I’m going to put out five articles about the writers who have shaped me and what influence they had on my work. I planned to do this all in the same week but I have changed my mind now I’ve started the editing process.

I guess it’ll build tension and you can guess the other four.

--

--

Argumentative Penguin
The Arctic Circular

Playwright. Screenwriter. Penguin. Fan of rationalism and polite discourse. Find me causing chaos in the comments. Contact: argumentativepenguin@outlook.com