One simple life-hack to not be overwhelmed

Jazzy Jedd
Lucid State
Published in
4 min readAug 2, 2021

Do you have the courage to do it?

Photo by Maddi Bazzocco on Unsplash

Multi-tasking may be a myth, but scheduling is not.

Scheduling tasks for a realistic and specific time on your calendar; that’s how you make room in your brain for tackling one thing at a time! It’s the secret to not feeling overwhelmed.

As I reflected on this philosophy, I recalled a conversation with someone who believed herself to be a serious businesswoman. She was quite cavalier as we spoke, with flippant justifications as to why tasks weren’t being accomplished.

She said “I just can’t work from a calendar. There are too many demands.”

But as her lips moved, I heard something completely different. I heard the lamentations of an insecure person, a person who would not give herself the chance to succeed, someone who was quite content to shoot herself in the foot. I heard “These issues just are not important enough for me to assign deadlines to them.” In my humble opinion, she just didn’t like herself enough to adapt to more productive practices. She just wasn’t appreciating the concept of “pencil it in and stress less”. This wasn’t a judgement. But the fact is, as we all fail at things from time, shouldn’t we at least be willing to learn from our mistakes as we go again?

To be quite honest, I attempted to sway her a few times.

I explained the practicality of scheduling. I told her about the positive momentum. I told her about how it pretty much automates the day and allows you to check things off easily. I even reiterated how it helps make thought clearer and brings down anxiety. I ended with the simple fact that it’s the one step to turn common sense into common practice.

Eventually though, I threw my hands up. I didn’t see the point of trying so hard to convince her to do some self-love if she wasn’t even remotely interested. She seemed to like the hassle of running from one thing to the next, helter-skelter. Somehow, the frenzy seemed to fuel her and make her feel as if she was achieving a lot. Maybe too, the adrenaline surge came from complaining at the end of the day. It could have been symptomatic of so much more; perhaps some deep seated psychological need to prove to herself that so called “busyness” somehow meant that she was indeed trying. Maybe this was her only ego booster; and as impractical as it was, maybe fretting was the only way she could convince herself that she was “enough”.

Sadly too, even if folks are not inflicting the self-punishment of multi-tasking, their bosses might be attempting to. This is something I’ve noticed much too often in the corporate circles as well. It certainly is not a phenomenon reserved just for the business person. Maybe it comes from a manager’s strong desire to control subordinates instead of trust in their competence, their ability to collaborate as well as work with autonomy. In my humble opinion, the drudgery here is because many managers weren’t taught how to lead or even more importantly, how to hire, and so no real culture of proficiency is encouraged. Instead, of acknowledging some basic psychological set ups needed to make work life a bit easier, what we often have is a culture of overseers reminding subordinates of deadlines; a thousand tasks all with the same deadline. What a thing! But I do hold on to hope! Maybe all the flexible work arrangements of the pandemic would provide an opportunity for leaders to re-examine their work style and note that if their workers can work effectively from home, then of course, they can manage their own schedules, one thing at a time.

As for my business associate, I needed to at least show enough self-care to no longer get trapped by her discussions.

I also needed to be unapologetic about it. So, I ended any prospective business interactions. I did not entertain any further calls; no chats about her grand ideas, no rants from her about what wasn’t working, no nothing. I had to recognize that draining energy for what it was and block it. I had to do it so that I would have enough energy to focus on the people who were all about committing and who with some wisdom about time management, honestly wanted to get things done. I had to use my time and energy wisely; a commandment of business I have painfully learnt to appreciate over the years, with scars to show for it.

The fact of the matter is that no one can succeed if they try to do it all. Indeed, we need each other. But we must carefully choose who falls into that tribe of support, be they associates, leaders or subordinates. For indeed, a true desire to work things out one thing at a time means we do what Les Brown advocates; we become quality people for those in our circle, not to mention for ourselves. Okay, so it might be a controversial point of view, but you can feel free to share your thoughts in the comments! I promise to schedule time to look at them! :)

--

--

Jazzy Jedd
Lucid State

I’m Jazzy and I write about life. People always say I’m thought-provoking. So, here’s to all the reflections you’ll have! Reach me at jazzyjedd@gmail.com