TEN NEW WORDS I’VE NEVER HEARD OF!

Michelle Monet
Lucid State
Published in
3 min readFeb 27, 2017

It all started with ‘Harissa’

Yesterday I was at Trader Joes shopping for a new salsa.

One of my simple pleasures in life is buying interesting new salsas. Actually, I put salsa on almost anything and everything, from eggs to fish to steak to sandwiches and I even eat it with a spoon right out of the container.

Hey, its a great way to get a veggie serving per day!

So Trader Joes has some of the greatest varieties of nifty salsas at super low prices. Yesterday I saw a brand new flavor!

‘HARISSA SALSA”?

It was described as:

‘Chunky red salsa with sweet red peppers, earthy heat, and spices’.

Ok, that sounded right up my alley.

I asked Bob to please come here and taste it. It was TO DIE FOR!!

He didn’t want to.

I insisted. “Just put a little on a spoon. You will LOVE IT!”

He reluctantly did.

‘OMG!’ he screamed! That is sooo friggin awesome!!”

‘Told ya’..

So I looked up Harissa and found it’s meaning:

HARISSA. ‘a hot sauce or paste used in North African cuisine, made from chili peppers, paprika, and olive oil’.

COOL! A new word.

So that inspired me to write today’s blog post. Oh, also this week I was reading two new books and found these other interesting words I never heard of.

1. PERIPATETIC

and

2. SESQUIPEDALIAN

So I looked those up too.

1. PERIPATETIC

‘traveling from place to place, especially working or based in various places for relatively short periods.’

“I could never get used to her peripatetic lifestyle?”

2. SESQUIPEDALIAN

‘characterized by long words; long-winded’.

“I am not too fond of the sesquipedalian prose of scientific journals”

Ok, so ten new words. Here are seven more interesting fun words to equal 10! I also attempted to use that word in a sentence. (HA)If you can help me out, feel free!

3. ABSQUATULATE

‘to leave somewhere abruptly’

‘In large social gatherings quite often I quickly find an exit to absquatulate?’

4. BLATHERSKITE

‘a person who talks at great length without making much sense’

‘I sat next to a blithering blatherskite on the plane today’.

5. BOBSY-DIE

‘a great deal of fuss or trouble’

‘My cat just knocked over my bottle of salsa! She’ll kick up bobsy-die later?’

6. BORBORYGUMUS

‘a rumbling or gurgling noise in the intestines’

‘My husband woke up today after a large dinner stating ‘I’m aware of my borborygmus this morning. Do we have any Pepto-Bismol?’

7. CACOETHES

‘an urge to do something inadvisable’

‘I have the cacoethes to go get a pint of cookies n cream ice cream and eat it all before dinner!’

8. CALLIPYGIAN

‘having shapely buttocks’

‘I used to be aware of my callipygian. Now — not so much.’

9. DEIPNOSOPHIST

‘a person skilled in the art of dining and dinner-table conversation’

‘I must admit I am a rather fine deipnosophist unless I’m totally absorbed in my meal and cant concentrate on my fellow diners.’

10.BINDLESTIFF

‘a tramp’

My sister goes to the bars nightly. What a bindlestiff!’

It really is fun to learn new words.

Do you have any to add? Oh, This one is also good.

ASKHOLE:

www.michellemonet.com

www.michellemonet.com/blog

--

--

Michelle Monet
Lucid State

Musician. Author. Poet. Seeker. Currently writing Showbiz Memoir and Broadway style Musical. My 5 books are on Amazon. Contact: 1020monet@gmail.com