Stopover in São Paolo

Follow on Instagram #lucyptravels

CBTHBN
Lucy | Daydream Traveller
3 min readDec 22, 2016

--

I hadn’t planned to stop in São Paolo and have to say following numerous recommendations from fellow travellers to skip it I didn’t have high hopes. However, in order to get to Florianopolis I would have to change buses in ‘Sampa’ as the locals call it and figured it would be wise to break up what looked to be an 18 hour coach journey. Arriving from Paraty at 6am the first thing I did was book my onwards bus to Florianopolis for the following night before getting the metro across town to my hostel in Vila Madalena. The metro I had been advised was easy to get around and I found it simple to understand and also safe, an added bonus. Arriving at the hostel I crashed out for a few hours before dragging my sleepy head downtown to join a free walking tour of the city.

The tour if I’m honest was fairly dry, unlike most cities São Paolo doesn’t have much to offer in the way of sights / tourist attractions. The tour however was free and did provide an introduction into the city along with the chance to meet some fellow backpackers to pass the rest of the day with. After 3 hours of walking round a very grey city we were unleashed to explore. Passing one of the earlier buildings the tour had passed we decided to avail of the free views from the top. The expanse and size of the city is astonishing, grey and beige tower blocks expanded as far as the eye could see and we began to appreciate just why it’s the biggest city in South America.

Mortadela sandwich

From the rooftop we headed to Mercado Municipal to explore its culinary delights. The market sells mainly fresh fruits, cheese and meats, I guess it’s similar to Borough Market in London. Here we tried, and were conned into buying, some fruit and also stopped for an amazing Mortadela sandwich.

Heading back to the Vila Magdalena neighbourhood I decided to visit the famed Beço de Batman and sample some of the areas renowned street art. It didn’t disappoint and Vila Magdalena is a lovely neighbourhood to wander through stopping to eat / drink / view the street art as you go. I was glad to have chosen to stay on this side of town rather than more central when we visited MASP, Museu de Arte São Paolo the following day. I had heard about the gallery through social media and was interested to view they’re Picture Gallery in Transformation exhibit where the artworks are hung on glass easels rather than walls. The exhibit was interesting to see, I found it offered the viewer a much more personal experience of the collection in comparison to usual exhibits, where you follow a pre-prescribed journey through the works on display.

All in all I’m glad I stopped in São Paolo and can see why the locals love it. It seems a fantastic place to live but not so much to be a backpacker in. During my stay I stayed at the SP011 Hostel in Vila Madalena and liked its homely vibes and comfy beds.

Originally published at lucy.cbthbn.com & cbthbn.com

Read more from Creative by Trade, Human by Nature

If you enjoyed this article please share and recommend.

--

--

CBTHBN
Lucy | Daydream Traveller

Creative by Trade, Human by Nature | Design thinkers with outdoor dreams | http://cbthbn.com/