Political Engagement: A Few Lessons From my Childhood & WiUnion

Jenny Balliet
Lula & CO
Published in
16 min readFeb 25, 2020

DDoJ: Distributed Denial of Justice, Just an Aberration

Distributed Denial of Justice: Photos from Madison Wisconsin February 2011: Engagement Fueled Advocacy for Free & Appropriate Education for ALL

An Odd Duck of a Child

I grew up in Wisconsin. As a small child, when others were busy playing house or other normal activities of yesteryear, I was avoiding same. I ran a Fig Newton trading ring complete with arbitrage from my lunchbox at the tables of a Catholic elementary school cafeteria at the tender age of 6, grade 1. Sadly, it was shut down in three days due to capital constraints, AKA my parents did not understand ‘why on earth’ I could possibly need 24 newtons daily. They were not exactly amused and feared I may be violating school policy, but, years later they tell that story with great pride, which they claimed shows my business acumen.

Know Your Limits, But Be Resourceful

In Kindergarten, I also ran a friendship making bracelet business, however, I had my daily babysitters filling orders, because quite honestly my skills were lacking and no one was interested in the ‘rattlesnake bracelets’ despite my attempts to convince otherwise.(When you do not make the knots properly, it looks more like a rattle snake.) Quality control was a full time job for me as was tracking all the orders from dance class and my bedtime was a strict 8 pm, unless I successfully negotiated otherwise. Plus, I still took a nap, all those factors crushed my productivity, so that business ended after Kindergarten. Looking back, my strategy was quit savvy as my mom was a dance team coach, so I always had a willing workforce of sitters, though some were more complicit than others. This experience taught me to be resourceful, creative, and listen to the market, but know your limits.

Don’t Change the Rules Mid-Game

My oddities did not end there, I also created pretend companies and played ‘Corporation’ as I enthusiastically drew out fake stock quotes, wrote non-sensical reports to the board on new initiatives and public relations concerns, and created marketing materials. (My mom watched a lot of Days of Our Lives; there was always an event of corporate espionage and more times than not, it involved Stefano.) Usually, I was in my own world, as I was only able to convince my sister to join me if it was a horse or cat company, and she had so many rules that changed, I began authoring policy handbooks. There are some good stories there, but those are beyond the scope here. What I can tell you is that I learned to be fair: i.e., don’t change the rules mid-game.

Engagement is Key

A lesser known mainstay of growing up was politics. I was raised a staunch conservative, though I am not any longer, if I ever was. During each of the political conventions, I would map out the delegates and votes and write little news articles for my own world. As I grew up, I door dropped for many candidates attended victory parties and eagerly counted down the days until I turned 18 just a few days prior to the election. You bet your bottom dollar I was there to vote in that, with bells on no less. In 2008, much to the chagrin of my family and friends, I accomplished a bucket list objective of mine, I was VOTER #1 in the rural Wisconsin township where I resided. Yes, I was there at the crack of dawn to hear the message, “here ye hear ye,…” and if you know me, you realize the epic nature that surrounds, the 0500 morning and I are not exactly simpatico.

In summary, my love for politics was more or less destined, I was an election baby after all! I call election season the most wonderful time of the year! I even have an old Pinterest board that substantiates same though I deleted that account. However, never in my life could I have fathomed the changes in political engagement that I have witnessed, the antidote I believe is quite simple it is a hallmark solution of mine, ENGAGEMENT. [11]

It is Time to End Political Disengagement

But political engagement? Isn’t that a faux pas? On the contrary, I argue that proper political discourse, not the hyper-politicism that we have today, is missing from society. In short, we need to be able to speak about politics and embrace the opposition to understand that we can agree to disagree. If these last four years have taught us anything, it should be moderation. We all need to coexist in this nation together and we must be able to hear another viewpoint and evaluate that against our own morals and values as a policy, not an ad hominem attack. Generally, I would use a favorite phrase of mine that I frequently used with my students, ‘quid pro quo,’ but that phrase has been ruined of late.

Earlier in the term, I wrote on American Society’s disengagement and anesthetized sentiment for Constitutional Law. As we simply re-adjust to what is the new norm whether gerrymandering or a distributed denial of justice (DDoJ), we cannot simply shut down, the stakes are too high.[2] The argument,

‘Meh, it is just one election, one President, what harm is there really?’

is a shallow fallacy. I watched this happen in 2010 in Wisconsin, when the teachers did not vote. I will never forget 2011, it was the first time I had ever encountered truly pervasive and insidious propaganda. I truly understand the desire to disengage, I am here to tell you it does not help, because when we are forced daily to watch the erosion of Democracy it can be increasingly difficult to have any meaningful reference. In other words we become victim to a boil the frog mentality. Case in point, Wisconsin. Yet, surprisingly, even that vote was not a party line vote. This gives me optimism on my quest for moderation and civility.

It was the Best of Times it was the Worst of Times, But, Did you Know that what Happened in Wisconsin in 2011 was NOT a Party Line?

Hide and Seek Democracy, Where Did it Go?

The first time I witnessed the toxic effects of propaganda, AKA fake news, was in Wisconsin in 2011. It endured throughout the Walker governorship permeated through issues of gerrymandering, the decimation of the Teacher’s Union, & the subsequent stripping of powers to Walker’s successor. [8][9][10] As a former Kindergarten teacher, I heard the words ‘but, that is not fair,’ ad nauseam. However, it was not until I watched Representative Barca proclaim to the Wisconsin Legislature on livestream that the vote for Act 10. was unethical, while I watched 30 some lawmakers, duly elected by their constituents, be barred from voting thought a flaw in Justice or glitch in technology. It was at 1:00 am on February 18, 2011, that I wanted to say those same words I had heard exponential times within a day.

Perhaps you think you know what happened the day that Wisconsin State Democracy died, though I doubt you do. I contend that you, like many, saw the riots with palm trees.

Please tell me where in Madison Wisconsin, besides perhaps, Paul’s Bar, you would find a Palm Tree.[12] Fox news intentionally showed rioting footage from Sacramento California to deceive viewers. [7]

“Fox News Correspondent Mike Tobin was doing a standup in the Capitol rotunda, talking about the protests. “When you get to the weekends, you get a lot of out-of-towners, a lot of people are bused in not just (from) Wisconsin but a lot of surrounding states.” Id.

That’s when footage of the hostile encounter unfolded onscreen. In the background were towering palm trees. The footage, which was never labeled as such, apparently was from a demonstration in Sacramento, Calif. Id.

Having shivered through three weeks of covering protests Downtown, we can safely say we’ve not seen any violent encounters. Nor have we seen any palm trees. Really. Scouts honor.” Id.

That Fateful Night

Background. To offer a rough summary, debate abruptly ended while there were fifteen senators in the queue, the topic was one that was polarizing the end of teacher’s Unions, not all unions, only teachers. [13] Mainly the issues revolved around healthcare.The history as to why the teacher’s were offered healthcare is seldom discussed, though it was rooted in Districts demanding advanced degrees, yet unable to offer commensurate salary. Up until that time there was something called a Qualified Economic Offer (QEO) in place, but rising healthcare costs, burst the QEO as we all knew they would. [14] Ironically, it is a trend that is paralyzing private employers today due the the Affordable Care Act, but that is beyond the scope here.[15][16]

The Vote. But what really happened that fateful night as I watched on Twitter livestream? I was shocked. Had the vote been fair, it would have been frustrating, but legal, the will of the people. Sadly, it was not. Here are two accounts I found. Most that I had personally bookmarked, now have broken links. However, these accounts mirror my memory.

“Republicans in Wisconsin’s state assembly passed Governor Scott Walker’s budget bill, including controversial anti-union provisions, before sleep-deprived Democrats knew what hit them. At 1 a.m. this morning, after three grueling days of debate and filibusters by the minority Democrats, Republican speaker pro tempore Bill Kramer called a voice vote. Within seconds, the ayes had it, 51 to 17.”

Only 13 of the Assembly’s 38 Democrats managed to vote. Democrats said they were pressing the electronic “No” button on their desks as hard as they could and started booing and chanting, “Shame! Shame! Shame!” once the digital vote system on the wall announced the tally.

“In a video replay, one unidentified Democratic legislator “could be seen throwing his papers and a beverage of some kind into the air in the heat of passion.” [3][4]

In another account,

“Then Kramer called the vote. Within seconds, the digital vote system on the wall announced 51 ayes and 17 nays, and voting was suddenly closed. With a total of 96 members, that got to a majority for the bill but left 28 members who hadn’t had a chance yet to vote.” [5]

The point being that even in Wisconsin’s darkest hour, it still was not a party line vote, that says a lot for my optimism and the future of moderation, though it was not out right obvious at the time. Much like this past January and Mitt Romney, a true leader I could easily stand behind.

“ Four Republicans voted against the bill — Dean Kaufert of Neenah, Lee Nerison of Westby, Travis Tranel of Cuba City and Richard Spanbauer of Oshkosh.” [17].

Wisconsin’s Act 10 hits National News in 2011, but the real reason for the budget shortfall had to do with Healthcare costs out of control, which broke the Qualified Economic Offer (QEO). A trend that is on the ballot again and will be until we have a comprehensive healthcare solution. [20]

The Aftermath Was Devastating, Especially Because Policy Propaganda Permeates Deep

Later that Spring, I met Mr. Barca in Madison, a true hero of Democracy whose actions woke many. [30] These Educational Policy debates are difficult. They are nothing new, though they certainly ignited into a firestorm like never before in 2011. Id. The issues surrounding the hyper-politicized Act 10 offered me insight into what is happening today while also illuminating the cracks in policy that most have attempted to subrogate for years. Mainly, this centered on healthcare. The ultimate root cause that precipitated and escalated Act 10. A highly complex policy challenge, which still plagues our elections today. [29] While for Walker it was about Unions, the way it was sold to society like a bad Initial Coin Offering (ICO) was the red herring, healthcare, which masked the true motive power and greed.

According the American Journal for Managed Care, a report echoed same. Therefore, I would counter for all of those that did not like the fact that teacher’s had healthcare subsidized both before it was a commodity and after, if you were paid in healthcare when it was valueless, and you took that deal knowing what would happen without comprehensive healthcare reform, then, reform failed and costs blew up, but your promise of healthcare was suddenly on the chopping block, what would you do?

“Health costs continue to increase and in turn health spending by families with large employer health plans has increased 2 times faster than workers’ wages over the last 10 years, according to research. The Peterson–Kaiser Health System Tracker assembled a brief to outline these trends in employee spending.” [15]

What would have happened if teacher’s never took the healthcare deal back in the day. What if they went the way of Corporate American and said, ‘you cannot afford me and went into the private market place?’ Who would have taught the students? Who would have gotten an advanced degree for no more pay? Teacher’s took a deal a long time ago and when broken, they had a right to be upset. Moreover, after the Unions resigned and gave all financial consolations in 2011, it still was not enough.

But some things need to be clarified.

To be clear, I visited the capitol and testified with a personal day, a prearranged, prior-approved, personal day of which I had earned several due to some additional training sessions I voluntarily took to become a better teacher, which were unpaid. I did so not because I wanted to protest, I wanted to testify. I knew the assault on my profession would be egregious. I understood the profound issues I relied on the Union for and each of them revolved around my students. I ensured all of my sub plans were in pristine order, a task of 8 hours, stayed in contact with the sub all day long. Further, I only traveled once I had ensured that my sub had shown up, had found the plans, and did not have any questions. None of this was mandated. But, that is simply how teachers to things. Further, the one day I took, I was home in time to tuck my daughter into bed, as always. Sometimes I ended up returning to my classroom after she was asleep, but I cannot remember a time in her first 7 years of life that I was not there to tuck her in.

I happened to be at the capitol February 18, 2011, the day that Rev. Jesse Jackson popped in, and I spoke with him. I found his private words to me inspirational. [25] Randomly a colleague snapped a photo it was used as the background for the article image. That day I was also interviewed by a Madison media outlet and had one of my tweets go viral. I was in my green window, a perfect state of flow. There was such a great vibe of solidarity and progressive thought there, though, if you watch Fox News, you would think otherwise, the true mark of fake news to say the least.

Perceptions Outweigh Reality Especially in False Propaganda

Case in point, Rush Limbaugh, one of my parents favorite radio personalities, notoriously named the teachers Union Thugs and repeatedly made purely false accusations (in my case see above). [29] But this rhetoric is what resonated with general society. They needed someone to blame. After I left the classroom in 2011, I worked on committees for Education Reform or Education Funding Reform and educated on school funding formulas, mill rates, and teacher duties. I successfully facilitated three referenda and several education oriented campaigns. I understood the issues that concerned all parties, especially the parents and society. It was rooted in a lack of understanding, good thing I was a teacher, and could educate on policy just as well as I could on letters and sounds. That is something unique about teaching, it is a universal skill.

A Broken Profession & Collateral Damage

Throughout that Spring, I went to protest with my daughter each weekend on my own time. Also pictured above. We frequently met up with other teaching friends and their children. There was nothing dangerous about the experience. It was humbling and served as good networking. I met many new friends who I collaborated with on various initiatives. Unfortunately, by the time of the recall 5 months later, the profession itself was all but emaciated and any semblance of professionalism was hard to assert due to the incessant false hyperbole. While many signed the recall petition, few actually voted. This only further muddied the reputational waters per se.

Society, and in many cases parents, heard what they wanted. That is one thing about parents with struggling children, they need someone or something to blame. The same rings true with taxpayers that do not understand why their taxes are increasing. In both cases they feel they are at the whim of the ‘system’ per se. I understand that it is easy to blame the teachers when you have an incomplete picture of the facts. I further understand that it is difficult to obtain a factual understanding given the rhetoric that seeps into every facet of society. I also realize how strongly a parent will fight for their child, and at times how hard this can be when the stakes are so high and the preconceived notions lend themselves to opaque ‘understandings.’ This is why I am an independent Educational Advocate. I have been on all sides, and seek to be a scapegoat for parents if need be in these meetings, in order for the parents and teachers to preserve their relationship and move forward. My role is a cross between parent educator/coach/advocate and mediator, but more specifically, I am a child advocate and education consultant.

Professionalism of Education Eroded

During the aftermath I had several meetings that demonstrated the need for someone to fill this role. At one point, I was told by a parent if I did not spend my free time protesting on the weekend like all the union thugs, their child who I had been diligently working with each week night on my own time, would have been successful in reading. Another parent stated the reason their child was struggling in math was because I had my summers off.

Does this make sense? No. But, that was the perception. The following year, after I left the classroom, a school board member attempted to sanction all teachers who had protested, regardless of whether they had followed protocol for a personal day as that was his fiduciary duty. I left the classroom that year to stay home with my daughter. Since that time I have re-entered the workforce and coach and consult in emerging technology, capital markets, and education. Sadly, many of my colleagues have also the left the classroom or even the state as well.

State of the State: Post Act 10?

In addition to deep funding cuts to Districts, here are the statistics of educator in Wisconsin in a Post Act 10 era, we all know how healthcare changed, costs soared.[1] What about education?

“…10.5% of public school teachers in Wisconsin left the profession after the 2010–2011 school year, up from 6.4% the year before. The exit rate remains elevated, at 8.8%….

As a consequence, the report found, Wisconsin’s educational workforce is less experienced: Teachers had an average of 13.9 years experience under their belt in the 2015–2016 academic year, down from 14.6 years in 2010–2011…

Teachers aren’t just moving out of the state or out of the field entirely. A higher percentage of teachers are also moving to other districts: From 2015 to 2016, the percentage who did so jumped from 1.3% to 3.4%, according to the report.”

This does not even begin to discuss the policy changes of ESSA and the DeVos Budget. [1] While the MacIver Institute offers a more opptimistic view, I wonder if it is because Wisconsin was only a few years into the overhaul, this data only shows 2017. [27] I theorize there is a latent effect that Wisconsin may not have realized as of the the date of the research. As I am unsure how if you have a mass exodus of educators, a less educated base, and district hopping, creating less stability and how you could still exceed or maintain top status. I suppose that that will be the million dollar question. [27]

The New York Times alternatively cites,

Wisconsin Gov. Scott Walker (R) launched a war on labor in 2011, enacting a law called Act 10 that decimated the power of public employee unions to bargain, and it also cut pay for most public sector workers. It was clear that the law was largely aimed at the teachers unions, because Walker exempted the unions of police, firefighters and state troopers from the changes in collective bargaining rights. Not the educators

A 2017 study by the nonprofit Center for American Progress found that Act 10 resulted in the loss of wages by Wisconsin’s teachers as well as a decline in benefits and experience.

More teachers left the profession, fueling shortages, and researchers found preliminary evidence that student standardized test scores — a commonly used metric of achievement even though there are questions about what they really tell us — had gone down as a result. Furthermore, Walker slashed funding for education, and his hostility to protesting educators did not diminish after Act 10 passed. When he jumped in to the race to win the 2016 Republican presidential nomination, he actually compared protesting teachers to terrorists. When asked in 2015 how he would handle the Islamic State if he was to become president, he said:

‘I want a commander in chief who will do everything in their power to ensure that the threat from radical Islamic terrorists does not wash up on American soil. We will have someone who leads and ultimately will send a message not only that we will protect American soil but do not, do not, take this upon freedom-loving people anywhere else in the world. We need a leader with that kind of confidence. If I can take on 100,000 protesters, I can do the same across the world.’” [10]

Do You Hear What I Hear? History Rhymes, it Does not Repeat

In closing, I wonder if the changes were so benign, why did it get pushed through in a convoluted fashion, under the cover of night at 1AM? Why did Walker change the powers of his successor? Why did Walker fail to research where the concession was originally made and seek to offer remedy?[1]

It is all water under the bridge, but what happened in Wisconsin, can happen anywhere if we as society do not exercise our civic duty, our right to vote. Please vote if you are able. The fate of our future depends on it. We must make Wisconsin an aberration not an oracle.

Resources Consulted

[1]https://medium.com/lula-co/no-child-left-untested-the-case-of-unfunded-mandates-9796cdc5d39d

[2]https://madison.com/wsj/news/local/govt-and-politics/new-state-data-post-act-teachers-health-care-costs-soared/article_b67e5f94-109f-54ea-aa74-ac5b41d2b32f.html

[3]https://nymag.com/intelligencer/2011/02/wisconsin_assemblys_sneaky_mov.html

[4]https://www.youtube.com/user/somegelflings

[5] https://talkingpointsmemo.com/dc/wi-assembly-gop-passes-walker-budget-in-surprise-vote-dems-chant-shame?ref=fpa

[6]https://www.politifact.com/factchecks/2011/mar/08/mike-huebsch/wisconsin-officials-claim-cleaning-state-capitol-w/

[7] https://madison.com/wsj/news/local/govt-and-politics/on-the-capitol-palm-trees-in-madison-only-on-o/article_2c263fac-46bc-11e0-aff9-001cc4c002e0.html; https://www.mediamatters.org/legacy/2011-year-right-wing-medias-war-american-worker#1

[8]https://www.mediamatters.org/justice-civil-liberties/scott-walker-defends-unconstitutional-gop-racial-gerrymandering-voting

[9]https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/answer-sheet/wp/2018/07/03/a-new-public-education-movement-is-emerging-in-wisconsin-a-rebuke-to-gov-walkers-war-on-labor-and-school-privatization/

[10]https://www.nytimes.com/2018/12/14/us/wisconsin-governor-scott-walker.html

[11]Lulaco.io

[12]https://www.yelp.com/biz/pauls-club-madison

[13]https://www.tandfonline.com/doi/abs/10.1080/0161956x.2017.1349485?forwardService=showFullText&tokenAccess=DGtFksmyInUyXHjEfAxF&tokenDomain=eprints&doi=10.1080%2F0161956x.2017.1349485&doi=10.1080%2F0161956x.2017.1349485&journalCode=hpje20

[14]https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2003/related/subject_index/index/q_r/qeo__qualified_economic_offer; https://journaltimes.com/news/local/qeo-explained/article_51cda48b-ed6b-5260-94cb-41fa5c69570a.html

[15] https://www.ajmc.com/newsroom/healthcare-costs-increased-twice-as-fast--over-last-decade

[16]https://www.ncsl.org/research/health/small-business-health-insurance.aspx

[17]https://web.archive.org/web/20110227010547/http://www.todaystmj4.com/news/local/116710184.html

[18] https://youtu.be/IFU7mn9pOhA

[19] https://youtu.be/nDcfqeIT0PA

[20] https://youtu.be/SVKNvB8_LKk

[21]https://youtu.be/GMA2wF56V3M

[22]https://www.metafilter.com/101377/A-HalfCentury-of-Rights-Gone

[23]https://journaltimes.com/news/local/state-and-regional/article_af1b1966-4110-11e0-87d8-001cc4c002e0.html

[24] https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a-hMkhZKrUk

[25] https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TX7PMm1huFs;

[26]https://youtu.be/Lba-iHXBXmM

[26]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cu-5YEUtcgs

[27] http://www.maciverinstitute.com/2017/09/the-john-k-maciver-institute-for-public-policys-state-of-education-2017-edition/

[28] https://www.politifact.com/factchecks/2011/feb/15/milele-coggs/milwaukee-ald-milele-coggs-says-bill-would-give-wi/

[28] https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ErkBkxWNbxI

[29] https://youtu.be/IFU7mn9pOhA

--

--

Jenny Balliet
Lula & CO

Frmr. Dir. of Presentations, Athena.Trade | E Media Group | Educator|ADD/ADHD Coach |M.Ed. |Writer | MLAW |Founder of MinED & Lula & CO|Mom (14yo Gmer./Writer)