Choice

Lumiere Nitpy
Lumiere NITPY
Published in
2 min readFeb 14, 2021

--

Photo by processingly on Unsplash

By Saanghwi Patel

‌I was sleeping,

Then I was on the floor.

Maybe falling off a cliff,

Drowning in the air,

Blackened was my vision;

Maybe I knew why,

A rope was hanging,

I could go back

But I just wanted to let it go.

I was suddenly in a realm,

Where I can see no one cry.

Nothing was right about the sad peace there,

All I thought was, is there any time left spare?

Tired of the blame game,

Now they come,

Thinking of the things they could have done.

Hearing the lark,

Now I complained,

For all my days now are done.

Thinking of the sunsets I could have seen,

Playing in the places where I have never been,

Living in the moments I could have cherished.

Hearing the words I could have heard,

Singing the songs I always dreamt,

Reciting the poems I could have sung.

Crying my fears, I could have learnt…

Dozing in the sand ,under the moon,

Counting the stars rather than pebbles,

Dancing in the rain, and hear it clatter,

Could have seen the birds build from shatter.

Hum with the bees and dazzle like a firefly,

The things I would have done if I had the courage,

The choices I could have explored, which I never considered.

Living now was my only desire,

I know, I should have caught the rope….

Alas!

My only wish now was to feel it once,

Go back in time ,maybe a day or two,

Just to Live my life, once for my own.

--

--

Lumiere Nitpy
Lumiere NITPY

An all digital publication from Literary Committee, NIT Puducherry