The Hidden Coach

A local business owner creating the values to support employees

Mark Boysen
LuminusCoach
2 min readAug 16, 2021

--

Last Summer, we had severe weather in the area and had hail damage on my roof, patio, and siding. A couple of days later, this young gentleman named Quinn showed up at the door and shared they were helping to assess damage to the roofs. It was one of those moments where the timing was perfect as I was just about to start calling to find someone. But there was something unique in this young gentleman’s sales pitch. Quinn offered this company was giving him a chance, and he had been sober for a few months (verify). Usually, I would have been skeptical of a door-to-door vendor, but his message had truth, vulnerability, and integrity. With Quinn sharing his vulnerability, he created a space for trust.

Photo Credit: Austin Kehmeier

More importantly, there are these hidden coaches in the wild that go unnoticed. When I asked Quinn about what does the level of support means to you? His response was, “It means stability”. As I’ve gotten to know the company, the company is based on integrity and honesty and truly is a partner. This is a beautiful story of a business owner helping someone out with a chance, support, and providing a platform for employee success. The local business Owner Brian from Roof Ninjas. Here’s an example: I would have missed this story entirely if I had approached this situation with judgment. Luminus: When we lose our curiosity, we default to judgment.

The local business I called Roof Ninja Services is located in Minneapolis. The Owner is Brian Carlson and this is one of many stories where Brian is working to create a platform to support the community. I’m curious about your thoughts on this story?

--

--