A few moments with Chris…

By Shreenath Lohana

Surya HK
Lovers, Lunatics, and Poets
2 min readAug 12, 2023

--

Do I continue to box in a world of bar fighters?

… a moral dilemma I usually faced and wasn’t able to articulate well enough to address it. However, after Chris’s session, I found the perfect analogy to explain my dilemma and even found a term that helped me think and find me a way out of it- “Fugitive”! A fugitive approach is when one feels compelled to work in solidarity with others in the interest to achieve a more just world. Thinking like a fugitive, identify the cracks, and deal with problems stealthily.

This concept of Fugitivity strongly resonates with my inner self because I too feel that there’s a lot that needs to be done and we need individuals who are working towards the collective greater good… and this session was just perfect in time for me to learn how to build and nurture such a philosophy/practice/place.

A moment with Chris (right), where Shreenath (left) shares a fugitive space and his collection of writing, with the Professor from Nevada State University.

When I had the chance of having a word with Chris and shared a few initiatives I took up on my home campus in India, he helped me realize that I was already on the path of creating a fugitive space. He guided me on what steps I should take to sustain it and how to communicate with the ones we may not meet. Whether at University or as a generation, what creative methods can we come up with, to pass on coded messages or knowledge, for a better future?

There is a thought I keep in my mind to bring myself to focus on the fugitivity concept…

“How do we steal away to steel away?”

--

--