Intelligence | Wisdom | Life

Re-learning How To Listen Improves Your Work and Love Life

3 Steps to deeper insight and better relationships

D.A. Rutherford
Lunch Meat
Published in
5 min readOct 9, 2021

--

Wait. What did you just say?

When was the last time you listened to someone without interrupting, once? I’ve realized a new persona on the horizon. The “chronic interuppter”. While in reality interrupting is nothing new, this particular habit can sneak up out of the blue and eventually disrupts more than just the conversation.

Full disclosure, I’ve noticed myself beginning to speak before the other person has finished their sentence. I don’t like this new attribute, and it feels almost like I’m pushing my way to the front of the metaphorical conversation line.

Now, a real conversation is not composed of a vocal race to the finish. I’m sure I could reason away my new habit of jumping to the next word. Maybe I felt ignored in one relationship, or I stayed quiet for so long in another, that now my ideas are “waterfalling” out before my friend is able to complete his thought. No matter what reasoning I could cite, the truth is that the behavior is unnecessary, and I no longer want to interrupt people.

--

--