The first time I heard about Bitcoin.

Katharine Suy
Luno Publication
Published in
2 min readMar 2, 2020
Photo by Tran Phu on Unsplash

Roughly 4 years ago, I was first introduced to the concept of Bitcoin mining by my friend Kyle Le.

It was quickly dismissed, as the idea of ‘creating a new form of money’ seemed ludicrous.

No one who had actually ‘tried’ such had succeeded, or at least was still alive & trying.

Murmurs of ‘Bitcoin’ kept popping up in conversations when I was traveling throughout South East Asia, so I finally decided to look into it.

I had my first #pennydropmoment with Alex and Don Tapscott’s Blockchain Revolution when I realised that everything we knew about the world today could, would and should be flipped around.

For the first time, I saw how Bitcoin and its underlying blockchain technology could radically transform the economy — into one that was much fairer.

It was a relief to re-introduce the concept of integrity, democracy, accountability, transparency, and security into places I didn’t feel previously possible.

Exactly 3 weeks after finishing this book (and about a dozen others), I found myself in London desperate to get ‘closer to the action’.

Today marks my 2 years at Luno and 3 totally engrossed in the crypto space.

I have the privilege of working in one of the most passionate industries and it has helped kept me in the rabbit hole. I’ve had a series of eye-opening moments since, and I continue to learn how broken the existing financial system actually is. And the financial system is only the beginning.

2020 has been a rough year, and it has heightened all of the issues we need to urgently address. It will take a lot more than memes and cute & fluffy animal videos to reverse all of the hatred created from the internet trolls out there.

Photo by Tran Mau Tri Tam on Unsplash

We’re going to need a bit time, a bunch of patience and a heck-load of resilience (but also ideas) to tackle the crux of it. But the key take away is that there are solutions. The very idea that things can be ‘re-invented’ is extremely promising.

Rome wasn’t built in the day, and neither was the internet.

Isn’t it time to be a little less apathetic and learn just a tad bit more about how we can re-design a better tomorrow?

--

--