Why the Women You Want Don’t Want You

Truth Hurts.

Ariana
LUSTFUL

--

Photo by MAX LIBERTINE on Unsplash

About a decade ago, I was sitting in a bar with three guy friends and my best friend, Kelly. Our routine was pretty set in stone. We would gather at the same bar and grill attached to a bowling alley, and sit in the same booth toward the back. At first, we went there because they had karaoke seven days a week. Kelly and I were barely twenty-one, still holding onto our love of singing from high school choir, still starry-eyed, and watching American Idol each week to be the next Kelly Clarkson. Eventually, one of our friends got a job there, and even though the karaoke quickly became a passing fad, we still showed up three or four nights a week.

All of our guy friends were at least five to ten years older than us, something I never really thought about back then. They were nerdy and constantly trying to sleep with us. Kelly gave in a couple of times, after having a few too many or when she needed a cellphone bill paid. One of them she even kind of dated, but it didn’t last long, and didn’t damage the friend group.

I never slept with any of the people in our friend group, though that wasn’t for a lack of trying. That night I was in between relationships, while Kelly never really had them. She would sleep with a guy and then get mad when they wouldn’t want anything more with her. There wasn’t anyone to tell us…

--

--

Ariana
LUSTFUL

I write about sex, love, relationships, and other things I don’t understand.