CELEBRATING KWANZAA 2022

Kwanzaa Principle #2: Kujichagulia

Kujichagulia Means: Self-Determination

Glorious Raine
NjoyPeace
Published in
4 min readDec 27, 2022

--

(IG link) Kujichagulia (Self-Determination), “All things Kwanzaa”! Motivating Color Sheet by Lorraine J.

Heriza Kwanzaa! (Happy Kwanzaa) Day 2! At the beginning of 2022 I looked at the goals and plans that I made over the past few years and realized that I ignored most of them or just did not work hard enough to accomplish all of them. After this revelation I began working on making it a point to be intentional in my planning and follow through of those plans so that at the end of this year I would not find myself where I was at the end of last year.

Once I had a plan in place for what I wanted to accomplish this year I tried (as much as possible) to operate from the mindset of getting it done anyway. There were times when I had to slow down or stop working on something for a while, but the difference was this time around I had a plan that kept me focused so even when I found myself running behind schedule I kept pushing forward. Today I am excited to say that although I have not completed all of the goals, I set for myself this year, I met quite a few of them.

I guess one could say that I have been practicing Self-Determination which just happens to be what the second Nguzo Saba (the principle) of Kwanzaa Kujichagulia means. At its core Self-Determination is defined as “the power or ability to make a

--

--