Weekly Roundup — June 28th, 2021

M. V. G.
Lympo official
Published in
5 min readJun 28, 2021

Dear Lympo community,

Another week has passed by, which means we’re another week closer to the reveal of all recent Lympo development and new upcoming partnerships. We strongly believe July will bring only positive vibes! 🥇

Last week’s recap

Animoca Brands partner with Queens Park Rangers Football Club

Animoca Brands and Queens Park Rangers FC announced a partnership to develop and launch NFTs based on the popular English football team. The partnership will start with sets of limited-edition collectibles, which will be launched later this year.

Animoca Brands is clearly expanding its sports-related partnerships, which can be leveraged by its family of companies. Read the official press release from Animoca Brands here or the Queens Park Rangers Football Club here.

Getting to know Yat Siu

Yat Siu, Founder and Chairman of Animoca Brands, had a chat with Tyler Schmitt of ONE37pm about his own journey to where he is today. From collecting musical notes to envisioning how he will help shape the digital world, Yat’s story is special.

Oh, and you might learn something about Animoca Brands’ partnership with the Olympics. 😉

Read a segment of the interview here, or listen to the whole podcast here.

Behind the scenes

As you know, another Weekly Roundup means another Lympo team member to be put in the spotlight. And since blockchain IT is an integral part of Lympo, it’s time to get to know Lympo’s Technical Lead Roman Holovay.

Who is Roman Holovay?

I was born and raised in Kyiv — the capital and biggest city of Ukraine — which I still call my home today. As you might know by now, we’re a truly international team at Lympo, and I’m grateful that we’re able to work from anywhere these days.

I’ve been a developer for about 8 years now, of which I’ve been a blockchain (dApp) developer for the last 5 years. Originally, I started developing with C++, Java, and later moved to Golang and Solidity to work on the Ethereum blockchain. I’ve written many smart contracts in the past few years, 500 of which are already deployed on the Ethereum mainnet. I’ve also done over 15,000 transactions on Rinkeby to test the behavior of the code on the public testnet.

At Lympo, I’m responsible for all the technical aspects of what we bring to the market. In other words, I’m working on the high-level architecture and smart contracts, while managing other developers to continuously expand our offering and improve Lympo’s NFT platform.

What does your day-to-day workflow look like?

I dare to say that I’m efficient with my time. That’s why I can usually finish the technical developments quite quickly, which allows me to spend some time learning new things when it comes to advancements in blockchain technology. Since our timeline often depends on important partnerships before new technical developments can be deployed, I can dedicate enough time to understand how to make our product better.

I’m also helping other developers with the integration of their code, as it’s really important for me to spend enough time explaining to others how to best interact with the code I’m writing. I’m grateful that I can work with mindful people who all share the same vision for Lympo.

The blockchain space is moving so fast, how do you stay on top of new technological advances?

We can’t influence the industry, but we can, however, see where the industry is going. Even though it’s not easy to say what will be relevant in the next 15 years, it’s usually pretty clear where we can apply technology.

I’m mostly looking at how business issues can be solved with the help of blockchain technology. And since I try to dedicate enough time to learn more about the blockchain space, I can confidently say that Lympo brings an exciting product to market that will change how people view the sports-related collectible and game industry.

Where do you see Lympo’s biggest potential?

Tokenization and gamification of the sports industry and related assets. Not only athletes but also stadiums and venues, virtual halls of fame, games where these tokens can be used, etc. Everything comes down to the utility of these tokens, and I feel like Lympo is definitely on the right track here.

What makes you jump out of bed in the morning with regards to Lympo?

For me, that’s unfinished work. I find it rewarding that we use technologies that are less than half a year old. The industry is moving so fast that the learning curve is very steep. And because we’re approaching more mainstream awareness of the blockchain and NFT space, I don’t see that excitement fade away anytime soon.

What are you the proudest of so far?

I was able to develop the IT infrastructure for the presale distribution of LMT in just 2 weeks.

If you could dream about a particular athlete that you would love to get onto the platform with his/her NFT, who would it be?

I’m a big fan of MotoGP and I also have a speed motorcycle myself. I guess I would like to see some Grand Prix motorcycle racing athletes on the platform!

10. What do you outside of Lympo, when you’re not thinking about work?

I’m so interested in this space that I feel like I’m always thinking about it, even when I’m not working. But if I do take some time off, I love to ride my motorcycle, go skiing or play computer games. Hence, I can’t wait until we’ll release the first game for Lympo!

Looking ahead

We’ll be publishing another Q&A video soon! This time, Lympo CEO Ada Jonuse is joined by Animoca Brands Chairman Yat Siu 🙌

You can still submit your questions here, and both Ada and Yat will do their best to answer the most important ones! There might be some teasers hidden away this time.

July will be a month full of surprises 🚀

--

--