Dear folks —

Lauren Zalaznick
LZ Sunday Paper

--

The Days Of Awe are upon us once again. In last year’s “Confession” edition I broke down the Yom Kippur 101. Basically: Guilt, confession, atonement. A new year, new beginnings, new chances.

Here are some things that I will confess to:

Sometimes I feel like a loser when I fly coach and someone I know is in business or first. Other times I feel smug and like I have the moral high ground. Then I feel like a loser for feeling like a loser OR a winner because I honestly think airline travel is dirty, gross, and demeaning, even with TSA Pre when you don’t have to take your shoes off.

  • Curveball: I don’t feel like as much of a loser when I fly Jet Blue.

I take every “unsubscribe” to the LZSundayPaper like a stab wound to the gut.

I cannot believe that I am 52. I feel like I am 22.

I sometimes wonder if I should have, in fact, fixed my nose like the 30+ other girls (and boys! It was Great Neck North!) in high school. Then I wonder why I am wondering about that, since I haven’t done any other physical interventions such as dye my hair or go to a dermatologist for filler or botox, let alone surgery.

I have lost my appetite for non-fiction books but still buy tons of them and try to read them. But I usually end up skimming them. But then end up talking about them like I’ve read them.

  • Next up: Ta-Nehisi Coates’ Between The World And Me. I vow that I will not talk about it like I read it unless I actually do.

I was happy for days after Janice Huff Favorited one of my Tweets. Then I followed up with a TBT of one of my all-time favorite outfits for her. I have a collection of screenshots of almost every night she broadcasts.

  • Sidenote: Am adding this to the list of Tumblrs or Instagrams that would be really fun, but that I will likely never start.

It is likely a rare occurrence that back-to-back profiles of Bethenny Frankel and Julianne Moore would constitute the representation of two major parts of a single individual’s career. I am that person! And I was extremely proud, happy and excited to see them in this week’s New Yorker. Oh also I actually read them in their entirety (okay I skimmed just tiny bits of them) so I feel justified in talking about them.

  • Fun Fact: They both played Housewives in the projects that we did together and that’s going to make a very good Media Studies paper for someone, some day.

I don’t know who I would vote for, if the Presidential election were heldtomorrow. I think I know, but I don’t know for sure.

I do know that I am happy to publish The LZ Sunday Paper. The feedback is very gratifying and I think the news that it contains is important. Here’s this week’s roundup of Politics, Business, Tech, Digital, The Arts and Pop Culture. And some funny stuff.

Please Tweet links from the Newsletter (I will re-tweet or favorite them and then you might be happy for days, just like me); share them on Facebook, or Forward the entire thing to a Friend if you are motivated to do so.

Send me items of interest or questions/comments here.

And do peruse the back catalogue for the issues you missed, forward the Paper, or sign up at LZSundayPaper.com.

Sometimes there’s so much interesting stuff out there I can’t wait ‘til Sunday so I tweet it during the week. Follow me @LZSundayPaper.

Again — Shanah Tovah!

LZ

News & Insights

--

--

Lauren Zalaznick
LZ Sunday Paper

Every week I curate The LZ Sunday Paper: The Most Important News By and About — but not necessarily just for--Women. Find it on Medium and at LZSundayPaper.com