You Don’t Need the Light

I can’t see the light at the end of the tunnel.

Milton®
Motion
Published in
3 min readFeb 20, 2020

--

I can’t see the light at the end of the tunnel.

To be honest, I’m not sure if I’m gonna make it. I’ve got a half charged flashlight, a backpack with two sandwiches and four water bottles. Other than that, it’s just me, my two sneakers, and this tunnel that doesn’t seem to end.

“Why does this always happen to me? I hate this. I don’t want to be stuck here for the rest of my life.”

That’s me.

And those are my thoughts. I have them constantly, well, once in a while to say the least.

It’s the truth. I feel trapped and I don’t know what to do with my life. On one hand, my parents are pushing me into pursuing a traditional career path — on the other, my heart is telling me to take risks and explore my interests before settling on something too early.

My gut is telling me to go for what’s in my heart.

Don’t invite them into the conversation. You already know what you want to dedicate yourself to, so you don’t need to ask for their approval. There’s no need to seek external approval when you already have internal approval.

-Kevin Hart; I Can’t Make This Up: Life Lessons

I bring this up because I feel as though I’m the only one going through this. Maybe not this exact scenario, but whenever life presents us with a challenge, we think we’re the only one going through it.

But that’s not reality. This is reality: your problems are my problems, and my problems are your problems.

We’re all going through the same stuff.

That’s just life. Problems and more problems, … and the light at the end of the tunnel.

“So where is the light at the end of the tunnel?”

This is a question I badly want answered, but know cannot be answered. The day-to-day grind bogs us down, it tires us, and we just get so desperate to know when this whole thing is gonna end.

The light gives us hope. It motivate us to keep going. It draws within us power we never knew existed.

But there is no light, you haven’t reached it yet, and neither have I.

I’m here to say, that you don’t need the light. What you need, is to trust that the light exists, and that this chapter of your life has an ending. You will find the light when the time is right.

In the meantime, enjoy the darkness. Turn off your flashlight and explore the caverns of life. Just remember, you’re not alone — everyone’s here with you.

And maybe, just maybe, you’ll learn to create your own light. And you might start to enjoy the gloomy darkness just as much as you enjoy the beckoning warmth of the light.

Thanks for reading! 🙂

--

--

Milton®
Motion
Editor for

🐘 i write about self-improvement & more for people with low attention spans