The Suicide Squad: Interview with Lynne Ashe, Polka-Dot Man’s Mom

Domenico Attianese
M E L A N G E
Published in
9 min readNov 9, 2021

Today, on Melange, we have a special guest: Ashe Lynne, pop-icon level actress better known as the Mother of Polka Dot Man from James Gunn’s The Sucide Squad.

Thanks to my power as DIRECTOR I was able to interview her, a truly incredible person with whom I chatted with great pleasure.

1. Let’s start with the topic of the moment, the one everyone has been talking about in recent weeks: You starred in The Suicide Squad in the role of “Polka Dot Man’s Mom”, one of the most absurd and memorable aspects of the film. How did you get the role? And did you already know what you were going to work on?

I received an audition-tape request from my agent via the Casting Director. While most auditions include a film title and role name, this one was simply referenced as “Untitled WB Project,” and it called for a mother role with no lines. I actually had no idea I was auditioning for “The Suicide Squad”!

I was asked to improvise dancing to the song used in the Club scene in the film. I didn’t really know what time period or what style of dancing they wanted, so I just mixed it up with several different moves. I’m no dancer, and I didn’t know the character would be dancing as multiple people, so I count myself lucky that this choice worked to my benefit.

Lynne Ashe in the Club scene

2. Is there any funny anecdote from the set that you can reveal to us?

The film worked two different filming units: First Unit consisted of the main scenes with the main characters. Other than my “Starro” scene, I worked exclusively with Unit Two, and it consisted of just the film crew and myself.

On the day that we were filming for the multi-character tableau scene in the jungle, First Unit finished shooting while my set was still filming. David Dastmalchian (Polka Dot Man), brought roses over to the Second Unit set and presented me with a “belated Mother’s Day” surprise. I was in the process of getting into wardrobe and make-up for the King Shark character.

3. What was it like working on such a set? And in a similar role, above all, where all the workwas body and face and no voice?

The project was held top secret, so I never received a script. I knew only that I was visible solely to Polka Dot Man. I didn’t know exactly how my role would play into the story as a whole until I saw the final version when the film opened! I’d never worked on a set by myself before, so that was extremely interesting and challenging.

All I had for my characterization was the direction given me on set. But obviously, the directing was amazing. James Gunn’s concept of Polka Dot Man and his backstory involving PDM’s Mom was a stroke of genius, and I am very grateful to have gotten to be a part of such an incredible journey.

4. How did it feel to be a pop icon? Or, at least, having played a role that has become one? Something is changed in your life and in your work?

I never envisioned that my role would become as popular as it is, so I was very pleasantly surprised at the worldwide reception! I love that she’s been the subject of so much fan art and you tube videos — there are several (videos) only showing fan reactions to seeing my character’s scenes for the first time. Mind-blowing for me and of course a delight.

There’s a wonderful artist, Adam Perocchi, whose work includes creating one-of-a-kind “action figures” of popular film and television icons. He works under the company name “Readful Things,” and he did a version of Polka Dot Man’s Mom as King Shark that was amazing (and amazingly hilarious). As for work, It feels like the number of audition requests has increased — which always makes me happy.

Adam Pedocchi’s “Mom Shark”

By total coincidence, as the projects and their producers are totally independent, I also have another DC project that I’m finally able to discuss. I couldn’t include The Suicide Squad on my resume until the film opened, but between the time we ended filming (The Suicide Squad) and the time the film opened, I was cast in a villainous role in a DC television show called Stargirl. I just debuted as “Nurse Louise Love” on Season 2, Episode 10, which aired in the US a couple of weeks ago. It appears the character is being set up for more in upcoming seasons. Having two DC projects airing within two months of each other has pleased me beyond belief!

5. You’ve starred in several successful TV series and movies, but started your acting career relatively late. Why? Was it a job that you always wanted to do and one day you decided to try it or did you just try, without any previous hopes?

From an early age, I knew I was supposed to be an actor. My first memory of that knowledge was age 4. But I was a very shy child, so it wasn’t until high school that I finally got the courage to audition for a play. I was constantly performing on stage from that time on, so I have decades of theatre training and stage roles behind me. But I didn’t want to appear in films because of my negative body image. I have a rather unique body shape shall we say, and I didn’t even like having my photo taken.

In 2010, however, I found out I have a genetic condition, a fat disorder called lipoedema. This causes a specific type of fat to form on the body (primarily from the waist down) that cannot be metabolized. Which means it can’t be broken down by either diet or exercise. When I was diagnosed, something clicked inside of me. I realized that I was born to have this body shape, and I was able to accept my shape as it is and myself for who I am. And that’s when I got an agent and started auditioning for films. Although it is a career I’ve always wanted, I didn’t allow myself to pursue it until I came to this state of realization and acceptance. That is why my film credits don’t begin until 2012.

Nurse Love

6. Of all the series and movies you’ve starred in, which one are you most fond of? Or that you enjoyed playing the most?

It was one of the highlights of my life to get to work with both Shirley MacLaine and Jessica Lange in a film called Wild Oats. It was just these two amazing Oscar-winning actresses and myself in one scene early on in the film. Unfortunately, the project was plagued with financial issues from the beginning, so it never received a proper theatrical release.

Both of those actresses gave Oscar-worthy performances in that film, but hardly anyone knew about it. Shirley wrote a fascinating book about the experience, which is called “Above the Line: My Wild Oats Adventure.”

I’m also really grateful for getting to work with “I, Tonya” which was produced and starred Margot Robbie. The Suicide Squad fans will know her mostly for her portrayals of Harley Quinn in several movies, but her talents go so far beyond. She’s truly an amazing and multi-talented actress, and I loved playing Shawn’s Mom in that project. I’m also really thrilled with the character of Nurse Love in Stargirl. I’m interested in seeing where that leads in future episodes!

7. Do you have any advice for young actors? Or young screenwriters, since, if I’m not mistaken, are you also active in this field?

My biggest advice: Go for your dreams. If you know in your heart that this is your path, DO IT. You will have failures; you will have negative criticism. Please don’t let that detract from your dedication to pursuing your dreams. That is inevitable in any course. You must be true to yourself and honor any gifts you were born with. I can’t go back to my younger years and start over, which means I wasted a lot of precious decades not pursuing what I knew was right for me.

As for writing — yes, I also knew that I was supposed to be a writer. Before I ever even began school, I would sit for hours copying stories out of my favorite books. I taught myself the alphabet and how to write the letters. True story — I asked Santa Claus for a typewriter when I was eight years old. (And I received it!) I won many writing awards in high school and had poetry published in magazines by the time I was 16. When it came time for college, I thought I had to choose between acting and writing, so I went with the one that offered the biggest scholarship funds, which was acting. And I allowed my writing dreams to slowly taper off until I no longer looked at them.

But then I reached a certain age where I slapped myself and said “Woman! You’re supposed to be writing too!” And I started back with the writing. Many screenplay awards, but nothing picked up for production yet. But it will happen! I cannot live in regret of lost opportunities, but I can encourage anyone reading this to please honor yourself and pursue your dreams.

8. Can you tell us something about Horror Noir, your next upcoming work?

Horror Noire opened for streaming on Shudder channel yesterday. It is an anthology film made up of six short stories. I’m in the last one, named “Sundown.” It is the tale of a group of volunteers who have visited a tiny isolated town in rural West Virginia in order to drum up votes for a political candidate. They find themselves trapped after dark … when the town’s strange residents finally begin to emerge. You’ll never hear fiddle music the same way again!

9. And then? Any anticipation on your next roles?

I’ve got a small role in the first two episodes of “Dopesick” which just premiered in the last couple of weeks. I’ve done a film called “One of These Days” that I’m very proud of and I still hope will have worldwide distribution. It was supposed to have had its US premiere at South by Southwest Festival in early 2020. That Festival was, I believe, the first international film festival cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Independent films often rely on Film Festival exposure to be discovered by distribution channels so that the films can be released, so while the film has opened in Russia, Germany, and a couple of other countries, it has yet to be distributed worldwide and in the USA.

It is based on a true story of contestants involved in a contest to see who can keep their hand longest on a truck in order to win the vehicle. Sleep deprivation leads to hallucinations and other health dangers, yet the car dealership who hosts the annual contest, puts it on as a show for spectators. I have also filmed an episode of Claws that will air in January, and small roles in two films that haven’t yet been released.

And even though I’m in Florida on vacation this week, I was sent three auditions to tape for upcoming productions. So I have no complaints and will continue trudging along!

--

--

Domenico Attianese
M E L A N G E

Writer, screenwriter, copywriter, editor. Pizza eater.