A Year in Missouri… Already!

Velma Gentzsch
M&V&O in MO
Published in
4 min readJul 25, 2018
Our chickens this morning.

I remember one year ago very well. On Friday, July 21, 2017 we had just finished loading everything that would fit onto the big moving truck, which had barely fit down our court into our driveway. We were wrapping up a busy year, and a stressful month. We’d made many decisions — to move to Missouri, a school for Oliver, how to take care of Ruth (Mark’s mother), where to live in St. Louis, what to take, what not to take… We were exhausted.

At 3pm, I got a ride down High Street to a gas station off of 580. There I waited for a van to pull up with three people whom I’d never met in it. They were giving me a ride to the Hand in Hand Instructor’s Retreat, which was that weekend. Making it to that retreat had been a big puzzle piece in the move planning.

The van pulled up, and we introduced ourselves. I got in the van, sat down, felt relief and just started sobbing. They, being other Hand in Hand Instructors, just listened, gave me attention and let me cry. For the first time in weeks, I let myself feel how exhausted and stressed I was. I spent the weekend at the retreat receiving nourishment — physical, emotional and spiritual. It was exactly what I needed to return me to top shape.

Today, in about an hour, I head to the airport to go back to this retreat. I’m going a couple of days early, so that I can see one of my best friends, dance with my 7Directions facilitator sisters and spend some time with my co-workers before the retreat. This year, I’m on staff at Hand in Hand Parenting as the Program Manager. I get to work a little bit during the retreat, helping it go smoothly, and, I know that I will also receive generous nourishment.

A year ago, I wouldn’t have imagined this is how it would be.

I knew that I would find a job, but I didn’t know that it would be my dream job.

I knew that Ollie would have a good school, but I didn’t know it would be an amazing school.

I knew that our neighbors would have chickens, but I didn’t know that they would be house chickens and that we’d get our own chickens.

I knew we’d enjoy being closer to my Dad, but I didn’t know how much Ollie would take to time at Papa’s house. “Without you, Mom!” =)

I knew I’d get to go out dancing, but I didn’t know I’d find a great new friend, and an interesting community of people.

I knew St. Louis had good music, but I didn’t know how vibrant the scene was (6–10 shows every night in just the blues). And I had no idea how much I would come to appreciate live music. If I don’t get to a show every couple of weeks, I get antsy.

I knew St. Louis was an accessible, family-friendly city, but I didn’t know how much easier that would make life.

I knew that I’d be happy, but I didn’t know that we’d all be happy.

In short, things are better than I imagined.

I hope you can come visit. We have a comfortable guest bed in the basement.

Here’s what Laura (a California native and Bay Area resident) said about spring break here with her 7 year old boy:

I have never been to Missouri, and I have plenty of misconceptions about it, but I spent a fair bit of time studying botany, and Missouri is home to one of the best botanical gardens in the world. I never thought I would be able to go there, so I was kind of shocked to find out I was going to actually get to see and experience it. (Plus, I am somewhat of an oak expert, and Missouri is chock full of those.) If you ever happen to find yourself in St. Louis, get yourself over to the Missouri Botanical Garden ASAP.

Another really surprising thing about St. Louis was the beautiful brick buildings. Brick is somewhat of an oddity where I live, in Big Earthquake country. But in Velma’s neighborhood, nearly every house was built of brick. Some were several hundred years old and featured turrets and gables. I could have spent all day staring at them and taking pictures. But I didn’t.

Instead we went to the Saint Louis Science Center and the City Museum. At the Science Center, we got to see a special demonstration of boiling and freezing liquids, solids, and gases, involving corks shooting into the air. Charlie also spent a long time playing with the elaborate water table. I swear, that kid is going to end up a hydrologist.

If you haven’t been to the City Museum, it’s another must-visit spot. I have been in museums all over the world, and I can honestly say this one is unique. There are 10-story slides. There are complicated tunnels decorated with seashells. There’s a maker lab. There’s a weird fountain built out of rusty military surplus metal that shoots water like a cannon at unexpected but somehow regular intervals. It was a big hit with the hydrologist.

Other highlights of trip included visiting the Laumeier Sculpture Garden and the top of the St. Louis Arch.

There were lots of other things we wanted to do, but we ran out of time.

--

--