How the unexpected can change us

Soetkin Vervaet
M2E — Month 2 Explore
3 min readApr 30, 2018
My human design bodygraph

Can you remember something or someone that once entered your life and threw it completely upside down? Can you?

Who or what was it? What happened? Could you have predicted the impact of change? Or can you only see it looking back?

Often we cannot foresee the changes that will occur and impact us and often that happens in a way we could never imagine…

3 years ago on a sultry afternoon, accompanied by homemade lemonade, I was talking to a friend in the courtyard of Alice (a nice cafe in Ghent). I was a bit tired of the summer sun and too lazy to conduct a proper conversation, so I let the words wash over me, capturing the essence of what was said and only responding when necessary. At the end of the conversation, already on our bikes, saying goodbye, the friend dropped the words “human design”, thereby mentioning that this concept could maybe inspire me… I asked a few questions, not really getting the answers I was looking for because the friend himself was not really well informed himself. Looking back, I see he was just the messenger. Does your postman who brings your mail knows the content of the letters he delivers you? No, it is up to you to open the letter and read it. And so I did.

As I went home I felt unexpectedly alive, I noticed the blood running through my veins, no trace of tiredness in my body nor mind… I felt alive, curious to discover this yet vague but intriguing concept or system which was called “human design”.

Through my exploration of Human Design, I now see that the immense sense of feeling alive that I experienced back then, called “sacral response”, would become a strong indicator for me to say YES (or NO) to opportunities, people, suggestions and questions, thereby changing my entire life.

In the months to come I would embrace the unexpected and live my design: I changed jobs, left the love of my life, swapped houses, traveled 11 times in one year and healed the bond with my mother, only following my sacral response. Human Design changed my life and healed my soul and body. It changed the way I work, live and communicate. It was painful, it was messy and confusing, but it was also glorious and utterly luscious to become the person I was meant to be.

In the months to come, I want to explore how my design affects my life in a very concrete way and I want to share this story with you, because it challenges me to express in a very practical way who I am and how Human Design helps me to live the life that suits me.

Feel free to join me on my journey. I look forward to meeting you along the way….

--

--

Soetkin Vervaet
M2E — Month 2 Explore

Living in Ghent. Driven by curiosity and personal growth. Keen to explore new horizons and dive into the depths of life. Coaching people towards transformation