Sound advice

Soetkin Vervaet
M2E — Month 2 Explore
4 min readMay 2, 2018
Which colour do you respond to? Pick one @ Ghent

When I was ill as a kid, I only wanted to stay at home when I was really too sick to walk upright. I really enjoyed going to school, being between my friends. School was always a very pleasant and social environment for me where I felt alive. I liked the social part and the learning part both very much, albeit that the latter changed a little when I grew up and school became a place where you had to prove how smart you were, how many words you could remember by heart and how good you were at maths (which I was not). The competitive side scared me to death and made me very nervous, always doubting if I was smart enough, if I would pass tests and exams…. But I leave that part for another post about what Human design calls the “open heart” that wants to prove its worth.

Little me

Staying at home as a kid was a punishment for me. I watched the hours pass by, imagining what my school friends were doing, what I was missing, I worried about tests that I would have to catch up with or subject matter that I would not understand.

I always felt better in the evening, when my other 7 family members were home again. There was buzz, movement and liveliness in the house, which made me feel so good. I guess that’s my tribal side that wants to belong to a family or community. Because we had no television, we often sat together, reading, chatting, laughing. My father used to say: “ in the evenings, you are never ill”. This was not true tough: my sacral had the energy for jokes, but not for standing upright, playing or studying. We don’t learn that we can have energy for some things and none for other things. That goes back to how the sacral center works: it is an engine, a motor that has a lot of energy, but only for certain things at certain moments. It is very fun to experiment with it. The sacral makes sounds and it’s the soundest advice you will ever get:-)

Your sacral knows what’s good for you and you can train yourself to restore that connection. Try it out by letting you friends ask simple yes/no questions.

Start easy:

  • Is you hair red?
  • Do you like chocolate?
  • Do you fancy a coffee?
  • Do you want to go to sleep now?
  • Do you want to go to that party?

Some tips:

  • Only use short and easy yes-no questions.
  • Only ask questions that concern the now. The sacral cannot respond to the future, there is only truth in the now.
  • Answer without pause and without thinking.
  • Answer with sounds (sometimes yes or no, but then the risk exists that the mind is more engaged).
  • “Do you want to do it ?”works better than “Do you think?” (which addresses the mind).
  • Aks one question at a time and then expand on the situation by asking more specified questions once some things are clear.
  • Sometimes you need more additional info to be able to answer (e.g. do you want to go to Hawai? uuuuhh. when, where, with who…)
  • First ask totally unimportant questions and then skip to the important part (e.g. did you call your dad today, did you go to school today, do you want to go swimming now, do you want a glass of water, do you want a divorce).

Another fun exercise is asking each other what you want to eat when you are at a restaurant: “Do you want fish? Do you want meat? Do you feel like eating rice?” Forget the mind and follow the sounds and movement of your body. They are much faster than you mind. Mind is slow, energy is fast. See where it leads you. The sacral makes sounds: yes sounds more like “un-huh” and no can sound like “un-uh). You will notice that your body sometimes moves forward (yes) or backwards (no) or that there is no response at all. No response can mean that the question is unclear or that you don’t react to the content, which can be “ I don’t know now”. You can ask it again or in a different way. Try it out. It’s real fun and surprising!

Response is also following your body, it is a physical thing. It will guide you to where you need to be, with whom you need to be in that exact moment. The experience that comes to you can be easy, but also difficult or messy, it’s not only butterflies and flowers, but it will feel different than forcing your energy and meeting resistance. When you meet resistance, that’s feedback from the life that tells you: go back to your life force (sacral) and use your energy for what’s correct for you. If you are feeling stuck, exhausted or frustrated, you are not connected to your sacral response.You are then pushing yourself and your energy, probably from the mind. We often live from the mind, so it takes time to tune into the energy of your sacral.

Once you are in tune with your sacral energy, you will never need outside advice anymore: your body knows what’s best for you. Let the magic unfold.

The red square is the sacral center. If you have it colored in in your chart, you have it defined and you can respond in a sacral way. If you have it white, it is undefined. Then sacral questions will not work for you.

Do you know if you have a defined sacral center? Only generators and manifesting generators have sacral responses. Check your free chart online.

--

--

Soetkin Vervaet
M2E — Month 2 Explore

Living in Ghent. Driven by curiosity and personal growth. Keen to explore new horizons and dive into the depths of life. Coaching people towards transformation