The risk of feeling alive

Soetkin Vervaet
M2E — Month 2 Explore
3 min readMay 1, 2018
Holiday in Marseille (France)- 2017: looking at reality in different perspectives

When was the last time you took a risk?

When was the last time you decided to follow your gut feeling instead of your mind?

When was the last time you did something so-called illogical?

When was the last time you did not dare to jump, but you had no other choice than jump?

Did you feel alive? Was it worth it?

I remember some moments in my life that I took risks, not for the sake of it nor for the adrenaline, but because my whole being told me: “Go for it, just do it.”

Oh boy, did I have long conversations with my mind, with others who I asked for advice (a very bad idea by the way, because almost anyone will talk you into your mind/fear)… but finally… there was always something stronger than my mind or my fear. I call it the risk to feel alive, the drive to make your life worthwhile: to jump when you really have to, taking into account that you will be able to live all the consequences, because you always can and you always will. You do. You do.

My worst enemy in these cases was always my mind. Mister Mind who likes to think things through, to come up with scary scenarios, with advice to choose the safest route, the least painful, the most rational/strategic/logical way. Human Design states that the mind is a beautiful tool to look at things, but an unreliable decision maker. The mind is not able of making decisions: you only can trust your own strategy and authority: the wisdom built in your body! In my case this means: following my sacral response that makes sounds and makes my body move towards or away from something or someone.

The sacral contains our life energy, our life force, our energy to work and live. Response is a big thing. It not only helps us to be satisfied, it also protects us. It is a way to avoid what is not correct for us. It helps us to keep aligned with what’s right for us. Simply stated: when your sacral responds, you feel very much alive, you literally have more energy in your body. Following your response feels great but is in the beginning really scary because you have to let go of control, mind-talk, fear, advice and opinions of others ( to only name some).

I have gate 28 in my design. Gate 28 is “the risk taker, the gambler, the gameplayer”. I took a lot of -what felt for me as- risks. I am not into bungee jumping, nor do I use drugs or do I risk my life in a reckless way. I take risks by choosing paths that my mind advices against, but are nevertheless correct for me because my sacral tells me so.

Only the person who risks is truly free

-William Arthur Ward-

It feels wonderful to follow the wisdom inside me. It brings me to unexpected places, wonderful experiences, breath taking moments, indescribable freedom. And therefore I am grateful. It is challenging to leave what you once loved, to jump when you don’t dare, to go into the unknown with your own guidance as your only compass, but it is so worth it. It is magical. Taking risks that are correct for you, aligns you with your life path, opens up new horizons and unexplored terrain, giving you space to breath again or in a different way.

I wish the world more risk: the risk to jump, to fly, to fall, to find, to get rid off, to cry, to regret, to struggle, to talk to a stranger, to explore, to invent, to be sexy, to love, to gamble, to be, to dare, to experiment, to experience, to live. To simply live. Life is so worth it. You are worth it. You are worth the risk.

You are worth the risk to feel alive.

--

--

Soetkin Vervaet
M2E — Month 2 Explore

Living in Ghent. Driven by curiosity and personal growth. Keen to explore new horizons and dive into the depths of life. Coaching people towards transformation