I Think: If you put him in jail and he gets out in two months, then what is the point?

Danbar Bahadur, security guard, Bangalore

Sanjana Thandaveswaran
NewsTracker
2 min readDec 8, 2019

--

“Man is knowledgeable but he is doing things that are ignorant of him”.
Photo: Sanjana Thandaveswaran

I moved to Bangalore from Assam nine years ago in search of a job. I am currently working as a security guard here. I read the news a little. I try reading the Hindi newspaper whenever I get time between my shifts.

When I see news articles about crimes against women, I feel it is wrong. It pains me to see children of five years and 10 years getting affected. Everybody has sisters, a wife, and a mother — don’t they have a family to get back to? Then, why do they do it?

It is wrong for a man to do these things. Man has created many things in life. He has made discoveries that has made the impossible possible today. Man has even created a bomb which can destroy an entire city. Despite having such knowledge, men are choosing to do the wrong things.

People who commit such crimes must be caught. Those who are sent to jail are released after a short period of time and end up committing the wrong deeds again. If you put him in jail and he gets out in two months, then what is the point?

If the government is stricter, these crimes will reduce. Such men should not be allowed in the society. I feel that when small children watch them do wrong deeds, they commit similar crimes once they grow up.

I am tensed while working here because I have also left my family to come and work here. In the village people misbehave. We don’t have as many provisions to study and work in Assam. I am thinking about my home when I am working. We live in tension.

If the government controls these things, then we can be less worried. The government is trying to change the rules and I hope they will work towards giving peace to everyone.

--

--

Sanjana Thandaveswaran
NewsTracker

Product Manager, observing the world of the tech and writing about it