I Think: Journalists don’t focus enough on the rapists

Krishna Chetry, security guard, Assam

Pradyumna Pappu
NewsTracker
2 min readDec 9, 2019

--

Image is representative. Photo: Ryan McGuire, Gratisography

I get my news from newspapers and social media. I also watch news on YouTube. I read the newspaper every morning and it just sickens me to see so many reports about rape.

The last story I read was from a place called Ambaji in Gujarat, where two teachers raped a blind girl over and over. The girl was only 15 years old and the teachers still haven’t been caught. The girl is probably facing a lot of physical and mental pain. Meanwhile, the media just reports on what happened in the case instead of talking about the rapists.

Rape is a huge problem in India, and it doesn’t help that the media just reports incidents and does not want to talk about the rapists. If the newspapers focused on the accused then their names would be publicly known, and this would make other people think before doing something so heinous.

If I were a journalist, I’d make sure to name the accused. I’d follow up continuously until the whole case was done instead of just reporting once about the incident and then moving on to another.

I want journalists to report the crime just as it is, and avoid trying to grab the attention of readers and viewers. It is a very sensitive issue and I want it to be treated like one.

--

--

Pradyumna Pappu
NewsTracker
0 Followers

Journalist | Writer | Innovator