I Think: Media is highlighting issues, but nobody is listening

Rajeev Gupta, shopkeeper, Dwarka, Delhi

Ayush Rawat
NewsTracker
2 min readJun 28, 2018

--

Rajeev Gupta (behind the counter), with his brother and shop owner Hardesh Gupta. Photo: Ayush Rawat

I rarely watch news as I don’t get much time in the day, and I’m too tired at night. Last time I watched news was a week ago. I try not to watch news of rape anyway, as it puts me in a bad mood.

It’s the government’s job to put strict laws in place so as to deter people from committing crimes. The crime rates are low in countries like Saudi Arabia because of their strict laws.

But then, our elected representatives themselves commit so many crimes. They make promises at the beginning of the campaign and are underground by the end of their term.

Police officers and spiritual leaders, too, commit crimes. And they’re protected by politicians. The so-called babas are supported by politicians. Before Ram Rahim got into news because of his actions, eminent people used to touch his feet.

The media is doing its job correctly. It’s highlighting issues well. But nobody is listening to them. I agree that at times the media’s portrayals are biased, but the broad picture painted by the media clearly tells us that sexual assault is a big issue in our country.

In my opinion, we shouldn’t keep rapists. That only feeds the problem.

--

--