I Think: Reading reports about rape often feels almost voyeuristic

Rudolf C Heredia, priest, New Delhi

Karuna Banerjee
NewsTracker
2 min readJun 20, 2018

--

When I read rape cases, there are three reactions I always have. The first is a sense of frustration with the media in general. I feel like we’re moving to a media that provides only entertainment. Reading reports about rape often feels almost voyeuristic.

My second reaction is a similar sense of frustration — but towards our society. The way we treat women is horrible. But also, the society isn’t moved by rape anymore because of the sheer number of cases we read everyday. It’s like accidents on the Mumbai local are no longer news because they happen everyday. Rape is starting to become like that.

Finally, reports on rape make me think of the plight of women in our country. I am constantly reminded of the quote: it’s safer to be a cow in India than be a woman.

I wish the media would do more analyses. If reporters looked into the causes of cases and published reports, that would make a much bigger difference in terms of communicating with the reader.

What’s also happening now is that the advertising we see is extremely sexual in nature. This is adding to our rape culture.

The question I have for the media is: are you part of the problem or are you the solution?

I think media is part of the problem.

--

--

Karuna Banerjee
NewsTracker

Obsessed with travelling, dancer, Psych major and, for a short while, writer for the MAAR NewsTracker right here on Medium