I Think: Reporting on rape has improved since Nirbhaya, but I still don’t feel safe

Arma Moulick, political science student, Delhi

Pranjal
NewsTracker
2 min readJul 12, 2018

--

Photo courtesy: Arma Moulick

I read the Times of India every day and religiously follow its reports on sexual violence. Every day I find a shocking rape or molestation incident published. Every day these stories make me despair about the system we live in — every day!

I was in class 9 when I first heard about Nirbhaya. I was astounded by the brutality of the crime. My friends and I were outraged and we even took part in protests and demonstrations that took place in our vicinity.

Nirbhaya was a wake-up call for the government, but the laws that came into effect after that are not properly implemented. Power and politics still influence the outcome of cases; sometimes the Supreme Court doesn’t uphold stricter sentences (unlike in this case); sometimes the rapists are bailed out and they live normal lives.

I believe there has been a considerable change in the way sex crimes are reported by the media since Nirbhaya. Back then, very few stories were given importance, but now I think journalists do their job properly when it comes to reporting rape and sexual violence.

The media should also tell stories that society doesn’t want to hear about — like the background of people who commit such crimes. Campaigns must be organised to make people aware and make society understand that it was not the women’s fault.

Changing the prevailing mentality is the first step. We need to teach boys early on that women are not objects to be toyed with, to respect that NO means NO. We need to stop blaming the victim, which is something even politicians do. They make things worse with statements like “boys will be boys”. Sensitisation to these issues is so important.

There is a Nirbhaya in me, always. I feel scared walking on a deserted street or while travelling home from work or college at night. If I am not able to freely walk in this country, I am sure there’s something wrong with what we teach our boys from a young age.

--

--

Pranjal
NewsTracker

Writer, Researcher, Socio-Political Commentator.