I Think: The media should make politicians feel the pain of victims

Mamta, security guard, Muzaffarnagar (Uttar Pradesh)

Karuna Banerjee
NewsTracker
2 min readJul 16, 2018

--

Photo: Karuna Banerjee

Iwork as a security guard in one of the residence halls of a university. Because of my working hours, I don’t really have the time to read the newspaper. I usually read the news on my phone while I’m sitting at my desk. My husband likes to see the news on TV so sometimes I watch with him at home as well. We usually watch Aaj Tak or DD India.

Reading about rape usually gives me goosebumps. Sometimes, if the case is particularly violent I find myself getting extremely emotional. I also feel extremely angry.

I feel like I read about more incidents of rape in Delhi than in Uttar Pradesh. That’s not to say that rapes don’t occur in UP, but there just isn’t as much openness about it here. An incident that stood out for me is about a girl who was set on fire after being raped.

The media focuses on asking what happened, but they don’t try to help. The government is responsible for taking care of us. But instead of taking news like this to the politicians to make a difference, the media is just interested in relaying information. I want the media to make politicians feel the pain of the victims. Otherwise what’s the point?

I don’t think the media puts undue blame on victims of rape. Why should they? We are a free country, so why shouldn’t women wear what they want? Or go wherever they wish to? The only reason women aren’t free is because on the one hand they are subjected to sexual violence and on the other hand politicians are too corrupt to do anything.

Of course, a lot has changed for women. But there are also so many predators out there. If rapists are hanged or given life imprisonment only then will a change happen.

If I was a journalist, then I would call for action from politicians. I would work to bring women together, to protest together, and make sure our voices are heard.

--

--

Karuna Banerjee
NewsTracker

Obsessed with travelling, dancer, Psych major and, for a short while, writer for the MAAR NewsTracker right here on Medium