How Robots Build Students: A FIRST-hand experience

Mac Eng Fireball Diaries
MacEng Fireball Diaries
6 min readMar 16, 2021

--

Abby Cooper, Ishan Vermani and Mackenzie Keeler

Three MacEng students with deep connections to the FIRST Robotics community share their insights as to how FIRST shaped critical moments in their academic and extracurricular journeys.

How a robot built a student

Abby Cooper (Chemical & Biomedical Engineering II, former 5406 member)

There are relatively few times in life when things come together as clearly as an Einstein alliance captain robot. Consequently, it was the building of a robot that built my academic career. At the start of my grade nine year, I had zero interest in robots or engineering, and now I am in my second year of Chemical and Biomedical Engineering here at McMaster. How does such a dramatic change occur? I have Celt-X 5406, my high-school FIRST Robotics team, to thank. Like many, I was inspired to pursue a career in STEM because of FIRST, and like many of you, I was told that the FIRST Robotics Competition (FRC) was a perfect jumpstart into a bachelor’s in engineering. I heard the phrases “jumpstart into an engineering degree” and “kickstart an engineering career” so often that I began to become quite skeptical; surely something as fun as FRC could not possibly compare to a university program. I still believe that those cliché phrases don’t quite do the benefits of FRC experience justice; the skills I learned while competing in FIRST transferred seamlessly into every aspect of my first and second years here at Mac. From soft skills like teamwork and time management to more tangible skills like soldering and wiring, I used so much of what I spent my four years of FIRST learning. FRC was nothing short of a “Power Up” into my first year of Integrated Biomedical Engineering and Health Sciences at McMaster; an “Aerial Assist” in my engineering design courses. If you’re wondering whether FIRST reflects what engineering truly is, know that it will help you transition into the Fireball Family.

Getting a “Stronghold” on the transition to Post-Secondary

Ishan Vermani (Mechatronics & Biomedical Engineering II, former team captain and current alumni mentor, team 6351)

FIRST is an incredible experience to guide you through the transition into post-secondary. Students have endured two months of intense pace, working to design and build a robot while balancing school and extracurricular commitments, which is an incredible feat. Furthermore, FIRST students have been able to adapt to anything that comes their way, including build failures, exams, and even budget constraints. Through this, you have been able to establish time management, problem-solving skills, and awe-inspiring initiative. These skills are just a few examples of what can be developed in FIRST. In a post-secondary environment, balancing classes and extracurriculars in post-secondary is no easy task. By working through the tight deadlines of a FIRST schedule, you are already well equipped for this challenge. Success in post-secondary comes quickly to some while others need time to develop their success strategies, however, participation in FIRST provides a solid foundation in preparation for this journey. Both technical and non-technical skills that have been obtained are valuable assets that you can use to navigate, and dominate, this transition.

Your FIRST experience may inspire you to seek a similar collaborative environment with a focus on engineering education. At McMaster, there are plenty of clubs to expand on the technical knowledge developed in FIRST, with opportunities to be involved in software, hardware, electronics, business, management, and so much more. For instance, the Mars Rover Team works to build a functional rover that competes every year at the Ontario Rover Rally. FIRST students might be particularly drawn to the competitive nature of this event, which is comparable to the Regional and District events. There are also clubs such as the Mathstronauts, which host STEM workshops at local schools, providing a chance to remain connected with the local community and foster STEM literacy. At McMaster, there is a club or opportunity for everyone providing a chance to develop a wide range of competencies.

Finally, embrace the curiosity that motivated you to join FIRST and always seek out new opportunities. Go out and try a new club or an interesting executive position, get involved in something that might be out of your comfort zone, or try to meet new people! This is an exciting part of your life where you can control how you grow and shape the person you want to be. An open mind can define your experience and reveal many possibilities. Opportunities do not come to you, instead, you should go out there and find them. You could find a group of housemates, a professional network that could land you a co-op, or an entirely new perspective on your life and career. Your mindset can fully define your post-secondary experience so be sure to pick one that lets you make the most of this time. FIRST students, you are completing a special journey right now, with another significant voyage around the corner. As you prepare for this transition, do not forget the lessons and experiences you have amassed to date, as they will support you for the rest of your life.

A FIRST-hand experience in specializing in Mechatronics

Mackenzie Keeler (Mechatronics and Biomedical Engineering II, former co-driver and programmer, team 2200)

Choosing a stream to specialize in was a bit overwhelming for me at first. I could see myself being in a few of the options but was unsure as to what would help me get a career that I wanted. To help make my decision, I reflected on my past experiences in engineering and thought about what made me the happiest. It did not take long to figure out that being part of an FRC team was the best engineering-related thing I have ever done. I realized how much I enjoyed robotics and how I could see myself doing something like that in the future. That brought mechatronics, electrical and mechanical engineering to the top of my list. Caught between those options, I reached out to a mentor of mine that I met thanks to FIRST robotics. She taught me about what systems engineering is, which essentially involves knowing a little bit of everything and integrating many factors into one cohesive design. When thinking about my career, I knew I wanted to be involved in projects in their entirety, and systems engineering was the way to do that. That is ultimately why I chose mechatronics engineering to be my specialization. It allows me to learn a bit of electrical, mechanical and software engineering, meaning my career could be in any combination of those streams. Who knows where mechatronics will take me, but regardless, I will know that my journey started with FIRST.

These three stories are the culmination of years of robotics experience, and serve to indicate the impact that FIRST continues to have on its participants. Our journeys have launched our skills into “Deep Space” and the life lessons that have stemmed from it have been “Infinite (Recharge)”. FIRST gave us a unique chance to “Breakaway” into Engineering and thrive in the “(Recycle) Rush” of postsecondary.

Click here to chat with our student ambassadors through the Unibuddy platform!

--

--

Mac Eng Fireball Diaries
MacEng Fireball Diaries

A collection of stories and personal experiences from our incredible McMaster Engineering students.