Life After Mac

Mac Eng Fireball Diaries
MacEng Fireball Diaries

--

Adetutu Ajayi: Chemical Engineering & Management, Graduate

I graduated from the 5-year Chemical Engineering and Management program in 2012. A year before my final semester, I recall contemplating whether to start a 16-month internship program. Part of my worries were that I was already spending 1 year longer in university than most of the friends I started with and an extra year to complete a work term would set me “behind”. Sounds funny now thinking of it but those were the types of things I worried about. When I explained this dilemma to someone who was a mentor figure to me at that time, I remember one question he asked was “what exactly are you in a hurry to do that an extra year would keep you from?”. I stared blankly and answered “nothing”. That was all I needed to hear then, I completed the internship and graduated 6 years after starting my undergraduate degree. Those same words frequently echo in my mind and have guided me through my career.

I was offered a job a few months after graduation and decided to pursue my career as an engineer. Starting out, I remember always saying “yes” to any task that came my way even when I was not sure of what I was doing, but learned along the way. Though I was initially excited to start my role and enjoyed all the opportunities to gain relevant work experience, my journey was not at all I had imagined it would be. After working a few years and gaining technical competence, I realized the passion I started with had dwindled. I was not sure if I still wanted to be an engineer, at the same time I was frustrated with the pace at which my career seemed to be progressing (the impatience thing again).

Having the business education from the Engineering Management program, I decided that it was time to explore another area of interest and further develop my business education and skills. I started and completed my MBA with Queen’s University while still working full time. I remember seeking advice from my mentor at the time and some senior level managers within my company. This helped me reset my focus on the development I had achieved so far, explore what may have been missing and chart out potential career paths. After completing my MBA, I was eager to start exercising the skills and new knowledge I had gained within a new role. This transition did not happen as quickly as I hoped it would, but it did eventually at an unexpected time through the influence of a sponsor. I enjoy the work I currently do, most especially because of the opportunity to develop and exercise new skills. Some advice I’d like to leave for anyone starting their career:

1- Do not be in a hurry. You get to realize at some point that your career journey is unique to you and going at a steady pace is not the worst thing especially when you see its benefits

2- Always seek out advice and mentorship. I cannot emphasize how much networking, mentorship and sponsorship has helped me in so many ways that I am grateful for

3- Focus on building skills. With any role you are working in, one of the most important things you can do for yourself is develop new skills and keep building on old ones

4- Be open to opportunities. Be the “yes” person with the right attitude and willingness to grow. This will take you a long way!

Click here to chat with our student ambassadors through the Unibuddy platform!

--

--

Mac Eng Fireball Diaries
MacEng Fireball Diaries

A collection of stories and personal experiences from our incredible McMaster Engineering students.