Podcast: Cognitive IoT on SoSoShow

Sudha Jamthe
MachineBots
Published in
3 min readDec 9, 2016

I had a fun conversation with Carol McManus talking about IoT and how it has become Cognitive IoT at the junction of IoT and AI.

EagleskyviTalew.com Ariel service Drone Applications

You can listen to the podcast here (mine is the Dec 8th 2016 podcast)

on iTunes or Googe Play or iheartRadio or on Blubrry

Key points covered -

I talked about how my network guides me on where to focus as a technology futurist to learn, what to build into case studies and what I should share by writing, talking or as a YouTube show.

your feedback is my beacon.

Small Businesses, Take Notice IoT has many business opportunities for small businesses.

Definition of Cognitive IoT I broadly focused on Robots, Drones, Bots and Self-Driving Car.

I talked about how IoT with vast volumes of data has led us towards Cognitive IoT as the junction of IoT and AI.

Drones I was pleasantly surprised to find that Steve Hill of Modern life network who hosts the SoShoShow, owns a Drone business called Eagle Sky View. They provide aerial view photography and ultra-high definition videos for variety of businesses primarily in Tehachapi, Ca. and the greater Kern County Area, California.

I believe that Drones as a service is the biggest business promising real revenues.

Look at it for anything where you want to skip distances quickly e.g. Ambulance drone or where you want to measure or take pictures or videos of a space e.g. Real estate or wedding planning setup businesses.

Robots are used as front-end customer service agents for banks, airports and hotels. It is hard to get business adoption because of the scary Robots-taking-over-the-world scenarios we have see in movies so start small and find something that fits your existing stakeholders. I like how San Jose airport has deployed the Robots as a traffic driver to the concierge of shops by allowing us to look for coffee shops and ATMs by tapping on a screen on the airport Robots.

Sudha Jamthe’s selfie in Piper, the San Jose airport Robot

Bots are setup for customer service interaction inside messaging apps typically. It is one that marketers should look into as it is getting adoption in that segment for customer engagement and reducing support costs.

Self-Driving Cars

Shhh, don’t tell anyone, I came out about my obsession with chasing self-driving cars and trying to understand what does it really see using Machine Learning.

I sure had fun, thanks to Carol’s conversational style keeping me focused on small businesses and entrepreneurs. I hope you’ll have fun listening to the podcast and learn something new. Do ping me with comments on Twitter @sujamthe and let me know if you have a machinebot that I should be interviewing next on YouTube.

--

--

Sudha Jamthe
MachineBots

Passion drives me: People, AI & Autonomous Vehicles Business @StanfordCSP, BusinessSchoolofSchool.com Vegetarian. Aspiration: a limitless world.