Machines of Loving Grace


Named for the Richard Brautigan poem, “All Watched Over by Machines of Loving Grace”, the band formed in 1989. The original lineup consisted of Scott Benzel (vocals), Stuart Kupers (guitar and bass), and Mike Fisher (keyboards), with Brad Kemp (drums) added shortly thereafter. They recorded a demo and were picked up by Carrboro, North Carolina-based Mammoth Records in 1991. The band was unable to re-record their material for their eponymous debut album, as the label released their demo as it was recorded.


Two years later, the band released Concentration. It continued their signature sound, but was more refined in the combination of beat- and bass-heavy riffs, with hard edged guitar. With the release of two videos, the band was able to get national-level MTV airplay, and join in the industrial rock wave that was ushered in byNine Inch Nails.

In 1994 they recorded a new song, “Golgotha Tenement Blues”, for the soundtrack to the film The Crow.


In 1995, Machines of Loving Grace released their third album, Gilt. This record was marked by an increased guitar presence. New band members included David Suycott (formerly of Stabbing Westward and Spies Who Surf) on drums, Ray Riendeau (bass) and Tom Coffeen (guitar). A remix of the song “Richest Junkie Still Alive” was included on the soundtrack to Hackers. The song, “Tryst” was released on the ill-fated “MegaMan Soundtrack”. Furthermore, various mixes of three of their songs — “Perfect Tan”, “Butterfly Wings”, and “Lilith/Eve” — were featured on the ’95 horror Devour. “Butterfly Wings” was also featured on the television show Due South, in the episodes Chicago Holiday and Flashback.

Like what you read? Give Jonas Sjögren a round of applause.

From a quick cheer to a standing ovation, clap to show how much you enjoyed this story.