4 Easy-to-Build and Extremely Useful iOS Shortcuts

How to get even more out of your Apple devices with no prior knowledge. A guide to building simple but effective shortcuts.

Tobias Hedtke
Mac O’Clock

--

Photo by Dimitri Karastelev on Unsplash

It‘s 2024 and one of my tech-related New Year‘s resolutions was to get even more out of my Apple ecosystem. In particular, I want to extend my admittedly very limited collection of shortcuts. So I took some time within the last couple of days to think about features that would help me in my workflow or that would be practical in general. During my little journey through Shortcuts, I once again noticed the following.

Shortcuts is undoubtedly the most powerful iOS app.

Enough preamble, let‘s dive into my findings.

1. App menu

I find it particularly difficult to keep iPhone home screens minimal and clean. Although I have recently cut down the number of apps installed on my iPhone, I‘m still left with two home screens full of apps and widgets. On my first home screen are apps that I use daily, i.e., need quick access to. On my second home screen are apps that I use less frequently but still frequently enough to need quick access to.

--

--

Tobias Hedtke
Mac O’Clock

Scientist, entrepreneur, and tech enthusiast from Germany, writing about Apple tech, productivity, and start-up entrepreneurship