6 Free MacOS Apps I never Close

The 5 lightweight apps that make my Mac the power user’s dream — data scientist edition.

Denisa Blackwood
Mac O’Clock

--

Photo by Oliur on Unsplash

Me from 6 months ago would shudder at the title. Back when I was using my mid-2012 MacBook pro for all day professional and personal use, performance optimisation was everything. And I mean, everything. My old Mac, at its modest 2 CPU cores and abysmal integrated graphics, could use any help it could get. I would obsessively close any processes apart from what I was using actively. I would avoid unnecessary multitasking and I would never download any widgets.

Things have changed now. With my brand new 2020 Intel MacBook Pro, I have every reason to keep my most important utilities open. Here are my top 5 free apps that I use every day.

1. Spectacle

Graphic by the author.

Window management on Mac can be a pain at times, especially if all you have is the 13" laptop’s modest display. Every square inch on the screen matters when you have multi-application, multi-window workflows like me. For easy window snapping, I use Spectacle on a daily basis.

--

--

Denisa Blackwood
Mac O’Clock

Scientist based in London. I write about tech, science, society and mental health. For collaborations, get in touch at denisa.blackwood [at]protonmail[dot]com