7 Private Things to Do Before You Lend Someone Your MacBook

Protect your privacy as well as Apple does

Nikhil Vemu
Mac O’Clock

--

grayscale photo of a person using a MacBook
Photo by Sergey Zolkin on Unsplash

MacBook owners are the most vulnerable people.

Most of my pals in the university own Windows lappys. The day when I flaunted my new MacBook M1, nearly 30 people hedged me in. They took it for an hour, opened all the apps, and praised its smoothness and silence.

Fortunately, I got acquainted with the complex-looking MacOS pretty fast. Days later, they started asking me for the maccy as their Windows PCs kept hanging while they’re working.

And I believe these doing 7 things before those naughty guys borrowed it protected my privacy. Let me explain them to you too.

#1. Turn off ‘Text Message Forwarding’

If you don’t know what ‘Text Message Forwarding’ means, it’s a setting that forwards all the messages (including OTPs) from an iPhone to its linked MacBook.

I use it because I’m too lazy to type OTPs from my iPhone. This auto-types them for me.

Screenshot by the author

--

--

Nikhil Vemu
Mac O’Clock

Apple Geek. | Get the best bargains for your favourite software 👉 https://linktr.ee/MacAffiliate