A Day in the Life of My M1 Mac mini

Mark Ellis
Mac O’Clock
Published in
6 min readFeb 18, 2021

--

Image courtesy of author

I’ll be completely honest — when I originally switched from a 16" MacBook Pro to the new M1 Mac mini, I wasn’t entirely sure how the latter would fit into my life.

I thought it might just end up being a machine used entirely for performance comparisons and real world benchmarking. A point of reference, if you will.

But it has turned into so much more than that. The M1 Mac mini, as I noted in my two-week review, is effortless enough to be capable of running my entire business.

I can’t make it sweat. It never feels hamstrung by RAM, CPU speed or graphics performance. For such a relatively cheap Mac, it is absolutely incredible.

However, I’ve received a number of questions from viewers recently who want to know what a typical workload is for me. Am I really pushing this machine? Or is my use case actually relatively light and, therefore, perhaps indicative of the fact that I’m not really pushing the M1 as much as I could?

So, here’s why I get up to during a typical day. Let me know what you think in the comments.

--

--

Mark Ellis
Mac O’Clock

Tech reviewer. Join my newsletter list for a weekly behind-the-scenes video of a tech content creator! ⬇️ https://markellisreviews.ck.page/newsletter